Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wonderful!! serving size of 7 easy recipe to read and not hard to get items. Have 3 hungry boys and they loved it!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family loved this recipe! Very easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is SO yummy! The chicken bouillon that I used might be partly to blame (Knorr extra large cubes). I was a little skeptical of the green pepper, but it is was a wise choice. I used the dark meat left over from the Thanksgiving turkey. I am having a terrible day...no week, but this is making me happy right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So good! I used one onion, two celery stalks, leftover baby carrots and one Russet potato. I threw in some fresh tarragon and left out the bell pepper. I finished it with dumplings, following the recipe from Easy Chicken and Dumplings. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used chicken bouillon instead of chicken stock 2 cubes/cup of water and I used oregano instead of marjoram. I also added some sausage to the stew and it was a hit for dinner! Definitely adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yum!! Great way to use Thanksgiving leftovers! I changed it up a bit---added extra potatoes and broth, Provencal salt, cracked pepper. Threw in some sprigs of rosemary, sage and basil. I also put in the remaining wild rice stuffing and a little leftover gravy. I was using leftover turkey, so I put it in the last ten minutes, just enough to heat it through. DELISH!!!!!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBUTANTE8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Awesome 'stick to the ribs' kinda meal! Use corn starch or rice flour for a Gluten-free alternative!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My grocery store didn't have boneless turkey breast, so bought boneless skinless chicken, and just pretty much doubled everything! The only thing I did do different was to omit the green pepper - I just thought it was an odd ingredient to throw in! I might add that I put much more marjoram in the stew than it called for - 1/4 tsp based on the stew's original proportions sounded way too little - glad I decided to follow my instincts - It was absolutely delicious!!! I will look forward to try this with leftover turkey after Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I added: 6 cloves of garlic to saute with the onions and carrots; ground sage, black pepper and bay leaves instead of marjoram. I didn't add: green peppers or celery. It was delicious! Hearty soup served with cornbread for a winter night's treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I've made this gem of a recipe a handful of times since discovering it and I must confess....I've always made this with chicken! No matter, as it's a fabulous recipe, which holds up well to changes. I generally add another cup or two of chicken stock (my favorite is the Better Than Boullion) and omit the marjoram (never have any on hand), but I do add a few shakes of dried parsley to the pot. My family likes garlic, so I generally add either fresh, minced garlic or garlic powder to taste. I leave out the bell pepper as well....I love them, but somehow it doesn't seem like it fits in this recipe. However, per another reviewer's suggestion, perhaps I'll try the red pepper the next time. Also, I throw my cubed chicken in raw and only simmer 15-20 minutes, tops. 30 minutes would turn the chicken to rubber and the potatoes to mush! I really love the simplicity of this recipe. It's my "go-to" when someone in my family is sick....quite the comfort food. I promise I'll try the turkey eventually - it's just so good with the chicken! Thanks for this delicious and healthy submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States