Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Good soup but a little bland. I used the Rosemary Roasted Turkey recipe to roast my turkey. I think this soup would work well as an appetizer, or possibly in combo with a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This was great. I did make my own dumplings and added peas instead of parsnip. Turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This was a great recipe. My family loved it. I replace the white bread with leftover stuffing. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUJRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Wonderful! I used leftover deep-fried turkey which was perfect for this since it was a bit tough from being fried and needed to be softened. I skipped the rutabaga. My dumplings may have been a bit runny. They didn't hold up real great, but that was fine because it made a very creamy soup that way. I can't imagine why I would ever do anything else with my leftover turkey after trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
The flavor of this soup was excellent! The dumplings were light and delicious, my whole family loved this. The only thing I might try next time is to add a cup of cream at the end to make it more of a cream of turkey tyoe soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2AARON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Great recipe. Family loved it. For the dumplings, I "cheated" and cut refrigerated biscuits dough in small pices and just dropped them in the broth. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great recipe. When making the broth, I added garlic cloves in addition to the other seasonings. I did not thicken the broth when finishing the soup, we like more liquid soups. I used parsnips instead of rutabaga - it gives the soup a nice sweetness. The dumplings were good and turned out fine. My husband and I enjoyed very much. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
cookobird20 excellent soup. didn't get far enough to make the dumplings. soup was so good we drank it all up. didn't even get far enough to strain the stock, just picked the turkey off the bones, got rid of them and never got any further. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I made this soup yesterday and it turned out fantastic. I'm not crazy about dumpling's, so I used homemade pasta instead. The noodles just absorb the flavor of the soup compared to store bought noodles. Very time consuming recipe, but worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Yum. My darling husband, (some like to refer to him as "Mr. Clean" because he's so tidy) was being helpful by cleaning up and threw out the turkey carcus. I did however cut the recipe in 1/2 & used the leg & wings that were left and it turned out fine. I ran out of time so I didn't get to add the dumplings but I did add the parsley along with some Barilla Pipette pasta (somewhat like a macaroni noodle, a "new shape"). Very tasty, Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States