Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Yum. My darling husband, (some like to refer to him as "Mr. Clean" because he's so tidy) was being helpful by cleaning up and threw out the turkey carcus. I did however cut the recipe in 1/2 & used the leg & wings that were left and it turned out fine. I ran out of time so I didn't get to add the dumplings but I did add the parsley along with some Barilla Pipette pasta (somewhat like a macaroni noodle, a "new shape"). Very tasty, Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
this recipe is the best. it's the "simmmer on the stove for hours type!! I really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
TERRIFIC soup -- i added in some leftover pasta instead of the dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I didn't have the 1 & 1/2 lbs. of cooked turkey and used whatever I could pick off of the bone. Hubby loves meaty meals, but didn't complain one bit. He loved it. Dumplings are a nice change with the fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I made this soup last week. The soup was great!I don't know what I did to the dumplings but they didn't turn out or look good so I made another type dumpling and they were great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is the best tasting turkey soup I have ever had! It is somewhat time consuming to make, but well worth it! I have gotten raves from everyone who has tried it. I have not attempted the dumplings yet - I have added barley instead. This is quick becomming one of my favorite meals to make! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I've been making turkey soup for 40 years and until today I would have said mine was better. Not anymore! This was fantastic, it made me think of my childhood and mum's chicken and dumplings. Don't change a thing it is great soup just as it is. Thanks Christine for teaching an old bird new tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Soup doesn't get any better than this and being that the "frost was on the pumpkin" this morning here in N.J., my family couldn't have wanted for anything more perfect then this wonderful comfort food. Using a leftover turkey or chicken carcass definitely gives soup the best flavor possible. I made my stock the day before so that I could skim off the fat. I made matzo balls in lieu of the dumplings as my kids are totally addicted to them. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I made this soup yesterday and it turned out fantastic. I'm not crazy about dumpling's, so I used homemade pasta instead. The noodles just absorb the flavor of the soup compared to store bought noodles. Very time consuming recipe, but worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
cookobird20 excellent soup. didn't get far enough to make the dumplings. soup was so good we drank it all up. didn't even get far enough to strain the stock, just picked the turkey off the bones, got rid of them and never got any further. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States