Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
My son loved this, I thought it was decient. Didn't like the dumplings very much, but I did use dried parsley. Would make this again though. Great way to use up that leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I followed the directions as is, and I can't begin to tell you how fabulous this soup is! My husband and I loved this soup, especially the dumplings! My only complaint is that it's more time consuming than I would like and I told my husband before he ate it to enjoy it because I doubt if I would be making it again. Well, he's already talking about me making it again after I cook the other turkey I have in the freezer. Thank you Christine for this great recipe! It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This soup was fantastic! It is rich in its depth of flavor and is well worth all the time needed! Dumplings were amazing - good point to keep them smaller - about 2/3 the size of a golf ball worked well. Bagged the rutabaga completely and was not missed at all! There was even enough broth to make another batch of dumplings (from old hamburger buns, no less!) Looking forward to my Christmas turkey to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I use a chicken carcass too.The dumplings are excellent Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I added barley, potatoes and omitted the turnip. I used Seasoning Salt instead of regular salt. Wow, the best we have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
We loved this recipe. I discovered that rutabaga is great tasting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This was soooo delicious. Definitely worth the work. Too bad I only roast a turkey once a year, it's almost worth it to cook one just so you can make the soup! Don't skip the dumplings, they are a close second to the delectably complex broth for the best part of the soup. Just make sure to keep the dumplings small, otherwise they are a little doughy in the middle. I skimmed the fat from the broth. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This soup does not taste like it was made from leftovers. It is reminiscent of chicken & dumplings that my mother makes. I did make a few changes: 2 chicken bouillon cubes, 1 tsp. dried basil instead of bay leaf (didn't have one), no rutabaga (didn't have any), and I made my dumplings from Bisquick mix (2 cups Bisquick & dried parsley mixed with enough milk to form a moist dough). Also, I had already thrown my turkey carcass away so I used my 1 1/2 pounds of cooked turkey in the original stock and then picked it out and reserved it for the end. Even with my changes, it still turned out delicious and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I make this a little different everytime depending what is on hand and this recipe has never failed to get rave reviews at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I made this last night. After straining stock, added fresh onions and celery along with the carrots. Didn't have rutabaga, so used peas instead. For the dumplings, don't have a food processor, so chopped up bread and parsley on my bread board. Picked out the big pieces of bread and added to dry ingredients. Then made as per directions. They turned out really good. In fact, this soup, though rather labor intensive, is absolutely wonderful!! Am adding to the list of soups my husband will eat (he won't eat many-lol). He even said not to change a thing. Great soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States