Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
the dumplings were hard and rubbery. But the soup itself was fantastic. I need to find a good dumpling recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Great soup for leftover turkey. I didn't make the dumplings and omitted the rutabaga (whatever that is??) I used more bouillon probably 6 cubes or so. Came out really great!!Freezes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This soup was delicious!!!! I made it as is with the exception of using half a rutabaga because I never ate one before. They're delicious. My husband didn't like the rutabaga but he's like a child...I think his tooth touched it and then he declared that he didn't like it. He did like the soup (doesn't like dumplings either, but that's okay). I put in fine egg noodles but DH thought it needed bigger noodles...I disagree but that's not important. Anyway, great soup and fattening but I'll just make it once a year after Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Incredibly delicious soup Christine! I cheated and made the dumplings with Bisquik and added a few more seasonings. Perfect dinner on this windy and very rainy night. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I have made this recipe for several years on the day after Thanksgiving. The only variation I have made is by substituting the rutabagas with potatoes. My family always looks forward to this soup and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This soup is awesome! Pure comfort food. I made this using the Thanksgiving turkey carcass. I pressed a few (4 or 5) large cloves of garlic while making the broth. I omitted the rutabega, added 5 small potatoes,added some fresh basil I had on hand for another recipe, and added a bit of salt. The flour/milk mixture makes a nice creamy broth. I do not have a food processor, therefore I used another recipe I had for the dumplings. Will definately be making this recipe again and again! Thanks Christine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Excellent! Did not make the dumplings. I added fine egg noodles to it instead. Everyone loved it. Even my fussy toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This soup has great flavor and is a great way to use those turkey leftovers. I omitted the rutabaga and the dumplings but still enjoyed it immensley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
The whole family LOVEs this recipe! I am always looking for healthy and tasty meals. This one is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I had to cook the soup for quite a bit longer than the recipie recommended to get the dumplings cooked. After this, the soup and the dumplings were quite good. I also found that after allowing the mixture to thicken in the refrigerator overnight, it made a most delicious stew for dinner the next evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States