Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This soup turned out great. I already had turkey stock so I skipped to the second part. I only had wheat bread & used that instead of white bread for the dumplings - they turned out GREAT! It was my husband's favorite part. The dumplings do need to cook a bit longer(depending on the size)- I'll plan for that next time. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe. Will use every year with leftover thanksgiving turkey. I ommited the rutabaga. These were absolutely the best dumplings ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My family and I loved this. It was very easy and the dumplings were much better than expected. This recipe also works well with chicken and the dumplings are good in other dishes that have dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Our Thanksgiving turkey was a little overcooked this year so I thought this recipe would be perfect to bring a little moisture to the meat. I used 8 cups of organic chicken broth (msg free!) instead of the bouillon and reduced the water to 4 cups. I added a little extra celery & onion to the broth while it was cooking. My local grocery was out of rutabaga so I substituted 2 golden potatoes. 12 min. was perfect for the dumplings.. thou I imagine it would depend on how big you make them. Mine were a little smaller than a golf ball but grew to twice that big in the pot. I also threw in a half cup of wild rice to the mix which was wonderful, but make sure to add more water or broth to the pot if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin
Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Was really good! It made a lot and I froze half of it for a future dinner. Even my picky children liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOUNTAINJENN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Delicious..even the skeptics in the family, once they tasted it, enjoyed and went back for seconds. One bit of advice - the flour/milk mixture NEEDS to be strained while adding it to the stock...otherwise, you'll have pasty lumps to explain..giggle...(learned from experience)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This soup was sooooo good. I too used potatoes instead of rutabaga and egg noodles instead of the dumplings. Be careful not to let it simmer too long like I did, otherwise the noodles will suck up all of the liquid. Even with the reduced amount of soup, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
What a fantastic recipe.My family loved it and I have very picky children. I didn't try the dumplings and I substituted the rutabaga for potato. We used a free range fresh turkey and there was no fat or greasey texture like with some soups. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This stuff was great. I also used potato in place of rutabaga (because it was what I had on hand) and I did't have time to try the dumplings. But altogether it was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was the best recipe for turkey soup I have ever come across, it was just delicous. I followed the directions exactly with exception to the addition of potatoes and I removed the rutabaga. I did make the parsley dumplings but both DH and I didn't really care for them, they are very gummy and heavy in texture and there isn't a lot of flavour. I don't believe I will ever use another turkey soup recipe, but I will likely not make the dumplings again. **EDIT** I just wanted to add that this soup is even better the next day and the dumplings, while still a little on the heavy side, taste MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States