Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This soup was fantastic! We made this Thanksgiving night and my eight year old daughter ate it for lunch and dinner the next day! I plan on making a turkey just so I can make the soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Really yummy!! Will cook the dumplings longer next time and follow another reviewer's suggestion for cooking 10 minutes without cover and 10 with cover. Didn't have rutabaga but substituted leftover boiled potatoes instead. Will try rutabaga next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Loved the recipe.I made it in a crock pot & turned out great.My hubby is not open to trying new foods so I didn't tell him it had rutabaga until he finished!His reply, make this again! The fragrance while cooking was a bit on the strong side but the end result was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a delicious recipe. I don't know why everyone skips the rutabaga. They're so sweet and delicous, a nice taste that falls between carrot and potato. I cooked my dumplings the standard way, 10 minutes uncovered and then 10 minutes covered. That's the best, for a light fluffy dumpling, cooked all the way through. The 12 minutes recommended here doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My husband made this soup the day after Thanksgiving and it was absolutely delicious. He did not make the dumplings, choosing to add egg noodles toward the end of cooking instead. He also added one large potato, cubed. That and the rutabega seemed to add a wonderful depth of flavor and a silky texture. Otherwise, he followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait to cook another turkey just so we can enjoy this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Yummy even without the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Turned out great. I have made it twice, once with rutabaga and once with butternut squash of course the butternut gives it a sweeter taste but still great. I also added a 1/2tsp more salt to dumplins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is almost exactly the way I have made soup for 25+ years. If you simmer the carcass and veggies long enough, with a little sea salt, no boullion cubes are needed for flavour. I have never thickened my broth with milk/flour but decided to give it a try. I had thick lumps of flour in my broth, so I ended up pouring it through a sieve. Like many others I used potatoes instead of rutabaga and egg noodles instead of dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Thanks so much for sharing this! It was really good. Froze very well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this as per the instructions, however, I only had wheat bread...but the dumplings still turned out really good. I may add more to the soup next time, as I felt it needed more seasoning, but overall a good hearty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States