Hearty Turkey Soup with Parsley Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The soup was good, but the parsley dumplings were not very tasty. I was actually a little disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i did make a few changes with the spices (using what i had in the house) i didn't use the thyme, bay leaf. I added parsley to the broth, some garlic and onion powder, a good bit of pepper, salt and some season salt. I didn't make the dumplings and used homemade egg noodles from this site (grandma's egg noodles 2) It was a pretty good tasting soup, It made up for the turkey being disaster. the flour/milk mix didn't do much to thicken the soup even with all the xtra flour from the noodles but still and awesome comforting soup. The next day is OMG good like alot of the other reviewers stated it turned into a stew. The was probably the first soup that we ate all of and was trying to fight for the leftovers and was genuinely sad when it was all gone. I'm going to be making it again for tomorrow's dinner. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I had homemade turkey stock made from my Thanksgiving turkey, so I used that and started at step 2. This is a very hearty and satisfying soup. I loved the parsley dumplings - they added an old-fashioned touch and were the perfect complement to the soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Followed directions minus dumplings. Sad to say that this was not flavorful at all (after hours of work) and the flavor it had was dominated by thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Great recipe, took much longer for us, because we doubled it because of the large turkey carcass, but it was a good lazy day to do it. I would add more chicken bouillon as one other user noted, I put in 4 cubes. We didn't have a rutabaga, so just used potatoes. Our dumplings were too big, so be careful not to do that like we did. All in all - GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Yummmy! My family thought this was so delicious. We didn't follow the recipe exactly - but we never do :-) Here are the changes we made (although I think it would be just as good without the changes). One thing we do that is different is to cook the turkey carcass in a little olive oil first until it is golden brown then add the vegetables along with the turkey and cook them until their golden brown as well. We think this give everything more flavor. Add the liquid after this. Also, I didn't have parsley so I used fresh thyme and sage in the soup and in the dumplings. These herbs were great in the soup. I used chicken stock instead of water and boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxieheart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This soup was excellent! It took some time because I wanted to let the stock cool to get the fat off. It was very good. I used a different method to make the dumplings because I don't have a food processor. My husband loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann262

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe! I've used leftover rotisserie chicken as well and the whole family loves it. I did saute' all the veggies first in olive oil. My family is picky about celery especially, so I wanted to make sure it was well cooked. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
The very best turkey soup I've ever had. Everyone loved it! Will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I'm giving it only 4 stars because I followed the directions exactly and the dumplings came out too mushy. It could of been my mistake, but I think it may just be the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States