Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This is the absolute best tuna noodle casserole ever. And the only one I make anymore. It is versitile. I usually don't have Zucchini on hand, so I just make it without, and it is excellent. Also I substitute the zucchini for red peppers. I layer them in the middle. This is a nice change from the "traditional" tuna noodle casserole. By the way don't leave out the thyme because it gives it the perfect flavor. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I needed a super fast meal last night for dinner and decided that tuna casserole always fits that bill so I thought I would try a new type of tuna casserole. I only had some of this on hand so I used what I had which was, 2 green onions so I added in some finely chopped regular onion, i had no celery or tomatoe or zucchini or jack cheese. I did have a cheddar/jack blend and used that and some sharp cheddar for added flavor. Used extra wet ingrediants and also added 3/4 cup of 1/2 n 1/2 and extra parsley and thyme and added some dill as well. I added crushed potatoe chips on top too. It came out really nice. My husband said it was a really good casserole and a nice change from the "soup" ones. I agree but i may have added a tad too much mustard as I kept tasting that flavor in every bite and would rather have had that be a little less strong in flavor, next time I'll cut back on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Excellent. I followed as recipe said and it was awesome. I did layer some of the cheese in the middle rather than putting it all on top and it worked out really well. Don't leave out the zuchini - it adds awesome texure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
it was very dry.. needs more creamy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
My boyfriend and I can't get enough of this. Very easy and super good. I like to add a little dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I thought this was fantastic! Much better than the boring mushroom soup versions you see all the time. We love tuna so I more than doubled it and adjusted the mayo/sour cream to keep it moist, added a splash of milk and sauteed half of a large white onion and added it before baking. I think next time I will also bake the tomatoes in the casserole. I thought the zuchini was a strange ingredient but it added some great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This recipe was not very good at all. It was dry and I really think that you need to cook it a little longer than what is called for so the vegetables are tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
love it, love it, love it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We will use a smaller baking dish for this next time, and also let it be in the oven a little bit longer for the celery. We used a bit less tyme and it was still very flavorful. This is a very "fresh" approach to tuna casserole and we will dinifitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
My boyfriend and I both agreed we were not impressed by this recipe. It was okay, but we would not make again. Did not like the flavor of the sauce, the tomatoes on top did not really go with the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LobsterClaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States