Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I haven't made this recipe yet, but I believe it is the one I have been looking for, for months! This was a family favorite growing up and what made it so much simpler, was that we made it in the microwave. I believe the folowing is what we used for microwave cooking: Microwave at high power for 6-8 minutes. Top the dish with the cheese and tomato. Microwave at high power for 2 more minutes, and let stand for 3 minutes before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This recipe turned out really well. I was a little concerned at first because it was smelling oddly like deviled eggs when I was stirring, and there aren't any eggs in the mix! But, my husband liked it and I have a feeling it will be even better heated up. I mixed everything in together instead of layering the zuchinni and I thought it was fine. I suggest cutting the zuchinni thin if you decide to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Not bad at all! I used only a tablespoon of mayo and about 3 tablespoons of sour cream (that was all I had on hand) and it was still great. Not dry at all- like many are complaining about. The veggies are a great accent. Add a dash of crushed red pepper flakes before serving for a little added heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
What rave reviews I got when I made this. The zuchinni addition was GREAT. I never have green onions so I just sauted some white onion, I put in 1/2 the mayo and added a can of cream of mushroom soup (since alot of reviews said it turned out dry)and toped it with French Fried Onions to give it a crunchy top. but i think someone needs to take a new picture. for this meal. it doesnt give it justice for how good it tastes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
delicious. made as written, with additions: added red bell peppper and another can of tuna and a little more "wet" ingredients (sour cream and mayonnaise) to mix up the add'l tuna. also added dill weed. Topped casserole with black pepper and paprika. After cooking for 25 minutes, added french fried onions and cooked for last 5 minutes. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
My family loved it! I did add some bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Great recipe. I add extra onions and leave out the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I thought it tasted great, but was very dry. Next time I would either use less pasta, or increase the creamy ingredients. It needed more tuna in my opinion, too. It may have also been too "hearty" and dry because of the fettucini I used (I didn't have any egg noodles). I also added black olives for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
We made this last night and really liked it! I did make some adjustments based on what we had on hand. We didn't have sour cream, so I used some crushed tomatoes instead. This gave the casserole a creamy, tomatoe-y sauce. I also added some corn, poultry seasoning instead of thyme, and minced onions in place of the green onion. I also used mozzerella instead of monterrey jack. Since there are only two of us, I split this into two smaller casserole dishes- baked one and froze the other for a later time. A great variation on tuna casserole, and easy to customize to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Yep, another winner!! I make this gluten free by using GF pasta, and sharp or extra sharp cheddar. I always add a 1/4c of dry, white wine to the mix. That gives it a little extra something, and probably because that is what my mom always did. Thanks mom! You are so smart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States