Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Amazing! This was delicious, and so much healthier without the canned soup . I used 1/3 cup each of sour cream, mayo and my fat free homemade yogurt. I think next time I will add double of the sour cream and yogurt, it was a little dry. I also added dill per someone's suggestion, wonderful! Next time I will add extra zuchinni, or italian squash which is what I used. Thank you so much for this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittymom82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is one of those reccipes you have to make exactly as written. Zucchini is exceptional...can't substitute. Flavors bland first day (monterey jack is a mellow cheese), but second day -- one of best dishes I've ever had with tuna. Needs to blend overnight. Don't rate a recipe until you ccok it as desribed (duh!) -- then experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Love this recipe! Sometimes I substitute dill weed for thyme for a little twist. I also like to mix in chopped carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooShell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Too bland. I did soften the onion and celery as some had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very tasty! I did tweak the recipe a bit, used brown rice pasta instead of egg noodles, shredded mozzerella instead of monterey jack which I mixed in (I didn't layer)added a couple of slices of pepper jack cheese on top (which tasted amazing) and omitted the thyme because I'm not a huge fan. My teen daughter loved it but wasn't a big fan of the crunchy celery & onion bits...I may try cooking them in advance like another reviewer did to soften them up a bit. This had more flavor than any other tuna casserole I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This turned out great. I put in two garlic gloves because I love garlic and added a bit of milk, i read in the recent reviews that it was a bit dry and it was fantastic! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My favorite tuna recipe. I'd been using it for years--it came in some recipe box in the mail. I am so glad I found it on here, because I had lost the recipe. It is such a good way to sneak in a vegetable. I never add the onions or celery--I love it without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Not bad for a Tuna Casserole!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I LOVE this casserole! I grew up with tuna casserole and always hated it. But this has restored my faith in tuna:) I did tweak it a little just couldn't do the mayo. So I used cream of mushroom soup instead and used pepper jack cheese and added more zucchini. My DH went back for thirds! and asked it be put into the regular meal rotation. The zucchini is the best part! Addendum: I tried this with the Thyme and hated it! I think it is better w/o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a light refreshing change.. Our family really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States