Hearty Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was excellent! Did as someone suggested and poured a can of drained chopped tomatoes over the zucchini. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. If you enjoy tuna casserole, you've gotta try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I haven't made Tuna Casserole for many years. Then I found this recipe. WOW! It sure beats my mom's, which used the usual cream of mushroom soup, tuna & noodles. No wonder I hadn't made it in years. This is great with the vegetables - makes for a great palate sensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
As the reviews indicate everyone has their own 'take' on what a tuna casserole should be like. I belong to the "no mayo in casseroles" camp but have made casseroles very similar to Ann's variation. I do like the added veggies and agree with other reviewers who opted for low-fat ingredients where suitable. I love tuna casseroles - my mother and grandmother didn't make them but I'm a gran'mere who does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I was previously NEVER a tuna casserole fan, but this is redemption for all the bland, flavorless tuna casseroles anyone may have ever had to endure in the past. I chose not to use the tomato and instead substituted can of ro-tel diced tomatoes and green chilis. It added a surprisingly delightful "South of the Border" flavor, not to mention a most pleasing aroma. A nice tang and spicy "kick" to break the stereo-typical monotony of typical tuna casserole flavors. Can't wait to try it at a pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
My husband gave this recipe 5 stars or an A+ for "effort". This is to say that he was glad for something new :) I did change things up a little but just slightly. I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles on top and baked the dish with the tomatoes for moisture. It worked- it was pretty good. I also added an extra can of tuna and a bit more noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Amazing casserole. Like the others I added some milk but I also mixed in about 1/2 cup cottage cheese which really produced a great texture. NOT DRY AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Don't worry if you don't have most of the ingredients! This is another great change & build upon recipe! Our cupboards were bare and we substituted: yellow onion (saute if you don't want it crunchy, no celery, no sour cream - used cream cheese, blue cheese dressing & milk, basil for thyme, mozz with a sprinkle of parmesan & no tomato. We only had egg noodles, mustard, mayo, tuna & salt. With a little garlic. It was AWESOME. Remember, if you are not using the zuccini &/or tomato, be sure it is somewhat soupy so your mix isn't dry. Be creative! It's a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I LOVE tuna casserole, this is the first one I can unequivocally say is horrid! Very Dry and noodles need to be boiled all the way, not par-boiled as the instructions say. Mayo leavs a greasy film in your mouth. Keep on looking if you want a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
this was good. my husband doesn't like tuna, but he still ate it. I added about 2tbsp of bread crumbs, 1/2 cup of nonfat milk and layered diced tomatoes in with the zucchini. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Very good! I used dill instead of thyme & mushrooms instead of zucchini, but followed the rest. Yummy. I got a little scared that it may be too dry and looked for a can of cream of mushroom soup to add but couldn't find one. Glad I didn't. I think I used more than 3 cups of noodles so I added some more sour cream & mayo and it was perfect. Also I added some potato chips on top of the cheese to give it a bit of crunch (instead of tomatoes) like the old fashion recipe. My husband insisted on that! This is my new tuna casserole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States