Hearty Stir-Fry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I was not impressed with this recipe. Definitely edible but a very confusing dish. Followed the recipe almost as written, substituted the mandarin oranges for regular. marinade nothing to write home about. could have done this recipe with one or the other meat, no real reason to have both. Used the mandarin oranges but maybe should have used fresh and taken off the skin so that the juice could have come through and into the sauce. Otherwise there is no purpose for the oranges either. The cilantro is necessary if you want to taste cilantro, otherwise, don't know why it is in here. This recipe is more like having all 3 courses of your meal in one. Saves on dishes for serving but not on dishes used for cooking and keeping warm. Definitely edible, if you have all these ingredients and need to use them all up. Otherwise, i don't recommend. I won't be making again, not even the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I'm giving this a review because it is a GREAT start to many different things and wanted to give my take on how I made the sauce. I wanted something other than your typical "soy sauce/water" combo for stir fry. With a few tweeks after trying it as written, this is what I came up with.. Use this recipe for using the marinade as a sauce for stir fry: 3/4 cup chicken broth 1/3 cup soy sauce 1/4 cup water 1/2 teaspoon chili powder 1 teaspoon ground ginger 1/4 teaspoon cayenne 2 gloves garlic, minced 1/2 teaspoon black pepper 2 tablespoons corn starch The mixture will seem thin before mixing it in with your veggies, but it will thicken up after it is sautéed in your wok or pan. I will say though, I think the marinade/sauce is GREAT as written for a marinade for meat, but as a sauce, you need to cut down on the salt or else it's too salty (hence the changes). I hope this is helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kateclody
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was very good. Maybe my expectations were heightened too much by the other reviews, but I thought it was just "very good." My husband, on the other hand, raved about it and asked if he could take the rest of it to work for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
We tried this recipe tonight and there is no doubt it will become a standard meal for us. This is an exceptional blend of flavors! If you are looking for something new and more healthy for your family look no further. I did skip the ginger (not a big fan). Go ahead, add this one to your recipe box. Do it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Loved this recipe! I've made it several times and the family loves it. I did cut back the amount of ginger and chile powder because we don't like it too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this last night for my boyfriend and our roommate and holy smokes, was it popular! All the flavours go so perfectly well together, and it is such a healthy dish!! THANK YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was just ok. We followed the directions completely and it turned out bland. I can't imagine someone proposing based on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Awesome, a delicious marinade, and stir-fry. I used chicken broth, fresh Ginger, chicken only, canned mandarin oranges. Cut chicken and onions in marinade for about 4 hrs. Cut rest of veggies up stored in separate bag. Then cooked drained chicken and onions. After that cooked rest of veggies. Put it altogether and served over greens and oranges! Easy and delicious! Thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This salad was excellent! It does take a lot of prep, so for us it is more of a weekend dinner rather than a weeknight. I used a can of mandarin oranges to make it easier. I used the chicken broth rather than the sherry, and it was really good. Definitely use the cilantro, it adds so much flavor! In order to allow premium leftovers, we left the meat, veggies, and salad separate and then stored each in separate containers. Thank you so much for a delicious, healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States