Hearty Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of split pea soup. I am now though Delicious! I have a big family so doubled the recipe and used chicken bouillon cube instead of water per other reviewers. I didn't have any jam bone so I fried up bacon and crumbled on top. Thanks for sharing a great recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love split pea soup. This was fine, but rather bland and nothing out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very hearty. I used 1 1/2 bags of peas, more ham and carrots, and didn't use any milk. It was thick and yummy on a cold snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
The best pea soup ever! I followed recipe & added 5 chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITA66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe is posted and loved it! It WAS hearty and so easy to make! I will definitely be making this again on future cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
ADDED A 1/4 OR SO OF CHICKEN STOCK FOR FLAVOR INSTEAD OF WATER ONLY, BUT STILL ADDED ADDITONAL WATER. FORGOT TO ADD THE MILK, BUT WAS STILL DELICIOUS AND LOWER CALORIE WITHOUT IT. I MAY TRY THE MILK NEXT TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is a seriously good tasting soup...I used cream instead of milk. I used chicken broth, and added one more cup than the recipe called for, per other users suggestions. Try it..you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was okay, I think next time I make it I will not add the bay leaves. Their flavor kind of over powered the dish. I love the idea of cooking it in a slow cooker and adding milk at the end. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I threw in 2 pork chops instead of ham as that is what I had and I used chicken broth instead of water. This was delicious! Perfect for a snowy day in South Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Easy and delicious. We were out of carrots, so I added a second onion. I will be making this again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States