Hearty Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Yummy. Made some minor modifications, but base soup recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of split pea soup. I am now though Delicious! I have a big family so doubled the recipe and used chicken bouillon cube instead of water per other reviewers. I didn't have any jam bone so I fried up bacon and crumbled on top. Thanks for sharing a great recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love split pea soup. This was fine, but rather bland and nothing out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very hearty. I used 1 1/2 bags of peas, more ham and carrots, and didn't use any milk. It was thick and yummy on a cold snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
The best pea soup ever! I followed recipe & added 5 chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITA66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe is posted and loved it! It WAS hearty and so easy to make! I will definitely be making this again on future cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
ADDED A 1/4 OR SO OF CHICKEN STOCK FOR FLAVOR INSTEAD OF WATER ONLY, BUT STILL ADDED ADDITONAL WATER. FORGOT TO ADD THE MILK, BUT WAS STILL DELICIOUS AND LOWER CALORIE WITHOUT IT. I MAY TRY THE MILK NEXT TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is a seriously good tasting soup...I used cream instead of milk. I used chicken broth, and added one more cup than the recipe called for, per other users suggestions. Try it..you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was okay, I think next time I make it I will not add the bay leaves. Their flavor kind of over powered the dish. I love the idea of cooking it in a slow cooker and adding milk at the end. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I threw in 2 pork chops instead of ham as that is what I had and I used chicken broth instead of water. This was delicious! Perfect for a snowy day in South Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States