Hearty Sausage and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Yummy! I made this with what I had on hand. I used spicy sausage, a green bell pepper and a 4 oz can of mushrooms. I didn't have marjoram since I didn't have any. I would definitely suggest using low sodium chicken stock. I used regular stock and the dish was a bit too salty even for me who adds salt to everything at the table. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I make this all the time! My 10 year old loves it. Use sharp cheddar cheese. It gives it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used 2 cups brown rice and a tablespoon of chicken base instead of the long grain and wild rice mix. Also added shreded pepperjack instead of cheddar. Even with doubling the recipe, there was only a plate full leftover from a family of 4. Needless to say was well recieved by all. I'm suprised Campbells didn't suggest cheddar cheese soup for the last ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee1756

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. I was looking for something to make out of a tube of pork sausage, and I'm glad I found this, as it will become a favorite. I did not put in the thyme or marjoram, because those are not spices I keep on hand. It certainly had plenty of flavor without. Everyone had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was a wonderful meal! As another member said i used pepper jack cheese and it was amazing! I did not use any mushrooms because i did not have any. However the meal turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very tasty! The only substitution I made was using a box of rice pilaf mix instead of the white and wild rice, since that was all I had on hand. It was very good. The casserole was a little salty, though, which is odd since there is no added salt. Still, I'd definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
My favorite casserole; I've been cooking a variation of this for over 15 years! If you want to cut down on the sodium, don't use the rice seasoning packet and use water instead of broth/stock. As long as you use the thyme and marjoram called for there should be good flavor without as much salt. I usually double the marjoram since it is my favorite spice after garlic. Additonally, you can just cook all of the vegetables along with the sausage and cut down on an unnecessary extra step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I added one can of cream of chicken soup and a package of cheddar cheese from the kraft Mac and cheese and put mozzarella on top its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is the second time in two weeks that I have made this recipe. Followed the directions...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lila
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious casserole!!!! A family favorite, meant to take a picture but it was gone before I could, turns out great even if you make it with a 4.5 oz box of rice (all I had) really tastes like it could be a restaurant food, would recommend to anyone for any occasion :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States