Hearty Ranch and Bacon Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by julie c
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I have noticed a number of complaints that this recipe is too salty. Please note that the recipe calls for LOW SODIUM CHICKEN BROTH. As long as you follow the recipe and do not add salt before tasting, you should not have any problems with salt content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My husband and I made this recipe the other night, and it turned out delicious! It tastes almost like a loaded baked potato. I recommend putting this in bread bowls as a fancy twist. The only thing I would recommend to change is maybe decreasing the amount of sour cream just a little because it has a bit of a bite to it. Otherwise, we'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was my first attempt at Potato Soup...my husband and I loved it. I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and cut the sour cream in half because hubby doesn't care for it but other than that followed the recipe exactly. We will be making this again on cold winter nights. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was sooooooooo good! I used milk instead of half & half in an effort to save some calories. I also sauteed some garlic with the onion and celery. Was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRE CALDERONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I adapted this so I could make it in my crockpot. I cut up the potatoes and threw them in the crockpot with the chicken broth, a bunch of pepper and a can of evaporated milk. I cooked them on HIGH until an hour before dinner. I mashed them slightly with my potato masher. I did use a whole package of hickory smoked bacon, cooking to crisp. When the bacon was done and out of the hot pan, I fried the veggies in the bacon grease. I didn't have celery but I did have one red pepper and one yellow that I added to onion with a little garlic. After I stirred in the bacon, veggies and cheese, I let it warm through on LOW, then turned off the crockpot so I could stir in the sour cream. Great tasting soup, I was quite surprized though it was a little salty. Great with homemade bread on a rainy night. NOTE: I did not need any flour in my soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
great recipe. I kinda overcooked my potatoes waiting for my hubby to come home, but I know now. Very tasty. I wouldn't mind adding a bit more stalks of celery to it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
TOO SALTY! whoops, forgot to use low sodium broth... next time would be a must; otherwise a decent chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This soup was delicious! Everyone went back for seconds and we almost finished off the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bimboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a great soup. The only thing I didn't have that the recipe called for were the green onions and the dry ranch seasoning that I had was the fiesta kind, and I only had half a packet. This turned out great. I didn't use the flour or the celery ( don't care for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was very good. I think I used giant potatoes so I needed to add about 2 more cups of broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States