Hearty Ranch and Bacon Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was VERY good! I didn't add the celery because my family doesn't like it and I used onion powder in place of chopped onion. I added some bacon seasoning that I had as well. My kids even liked this! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
If I could give this 10 stars, I would! This is by far the thickest potato soup I've ever made; tastes JUST like what you'd order at these fancy restaurants and pay $5 per bowl!!! The secret is likely in the flour/ranch dressing packet. I have a similar recipe which uses dry country gravy mix, and it thickens the soup just like this ranch dressing, except without the wonderful spice. Per other reviewers, I cut the sour cream in half, and while I could taste it, it wasn't overwhelming, so I concur this is what you need to do to keep the sour cream flavor "light". Again, this recipe is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Delicious! Do not be freaked out by the Ranch dressing mix. It does not end up tasting like Ranch soup. The dressing mix enhances the flavor of the potatoes & broth. Have made this 3 times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
So very good! I actually won a soup cook off at my church with this one! I added some kosher salt to the potatoes before adding low sodium broth. I also added a bit of minced garlic to the onions and celery...I added extra celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This soup recipe is amazing!! I omitted the celery. I used homemade chicken broth that I made from a leftover whole chicken (the bones). I didn't have half and half so I used 1 cup whole milk and 1 cup of water and used a little extra flour. This is by far the best potato soup I have ever had, and I get potato soup at every restaurant I go to. I love the sour cream and ranch mixture. It really made the soup. LOVE IT and so excited to find a simple recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
My husband and I thought this soup was excellent. My kids however are not soup lovers so they would say otherwise :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Loved this one! I make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I used this recipe to make a ranch and bacon mashed potato bake. It was yummy! Thanks for the inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I've used several potato soup recipes and this is by far the best. I have given the recipe to several people and they all agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foristell, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States