Hearty Ranch and Bacon Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I loved the taste of this soup. I did add 2 small sweet potatos and 1/2 a rutabaga diced up and oh yah a whole pound of crispy bacon! Thanks for the great base. . I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickyV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This soup is amazing! Very rich though, so I serve it in a bread-bowl... tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I adapted this so I could make it in my crockpot. I cut up the potatoes and threw them in the crockpot with the chicken broth, a bunch of pepper and a can of evaporated milk. I cooked them on HIGH until an hour before dinner. I mashed them slightly with my potato masher. I did use a whole package of hickory smoked bacon, cooking to crisp. When the bacon was done and out of the hot pan, I fried the veggies in the bacon grease. I didn't have celery but I did have one red pepper and one yellow that I added to onion with a little garlic. After I stirred in the bacon, veggies and cheese, I let it warm through on LOW, then turned off the crockpot so I could stir in the sour cream. Great tasting soup, I was quite surprized though it was a little salty. Great with homemade bread on a rainy night. NOTE: I did not need any flour in my soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Easy & great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is a delicious potato soup that is great for a cold winter's day. As a time saver I actually used the Ore Ida Steam and Mash potatoes, they are pre-cooked and you can still mash some and leave some chunky - it was a great addition and this is one of my families favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Excellent flavor and ease to prepare. I used some of the homemade turkey stock I had made, and cubed cream cheese/ 1 c milk in place of the half and half as I needed to use it up, and lower fat content. I also added 2 carrots chopped to the veggies. We really enjoyed this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My husband and I had a soup cook off for a big football game. He made his classic chili, I made this recipe. For future, I think I would use has browns to speed up the preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I cut the sour cream in half and added 1/2 cup of actual ranch dressing. We liked this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This tasted really good. Im not sure if I really like the zing of the ranch and sour cream but it was liked by all in my house and some had seconds. This was cheap and fairly easy other than peeling all of the potatoes. Most of all it was very FILLING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Really liked this soup a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States