Hearty Ranch and Bacon Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Easy & great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is a delicious potato soup that is great for a cold winter's day. As a time saver I actually used the Ore Ida Steam and Mash potatoes, they are pre-cooked and you can still mash some and leave some chunky - it was a great addition and this is one of my families favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Excellent flavor and ease to prepare. I used some of the homemade turkey stock I had made, and cubed cream cheese/ 1 c milk in place of the half and half as I needed to use it up, and lower fat content. I also added 2 carrots chopped to the veggies. We really enjoyed this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My husband and I had a soup cook off for a big football game. He made his classic chili, I made this recipe. For future, I think I would use has browns to speed up the preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I cut the sour cream in half and added 1/2 cup of actual ranch dressing. We liked this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This tasted really good. Im not sure if I really like the zing of the ranch and sour cream but it was liked by all in my house and some had seconds. This was cheap and fairly easy other than peeling all of the potatoes. Most of all it was very FILLING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Really liked this soup a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was VERY good! I didn't add the celery because my family doesn't like it and I used onion powder in place of chopped onion. I added some bacon seasoning that I had as well. My kids even liked this! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
If I could give this 10 stars, I would! This is by far the thickest potato soup I've ever made; tastes JUST like what you'd order at these fancy restaurants and pay $5 per bowl!!! The secret is likely in the flour/ranch dressing packet. I have a similar recipe which uses dry country gravy mix, and it thickens the soup just like this ranch dressing, except without the wonderful spice. Per other reviewers, I cut the sour cream in half, and while I could taste it, it wasn't overwhelming, so I concur this is what you need to do to keep the sour cream flavor "light". Again, this recipe is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Delicious! Do not be freaked out by the Ranch dressing mix. It does not end up tasting like Ranch soup. The dressing mix enhances the flavor of the potatoes & broth. Have made this 3 times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States