Hearty Ranch and Bacon Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was sooooooooo good! I used milk instead of half & half in an effort to save some calories. I also sauteed some garlic with the onion and celery. Was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAIRE CALDERONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This soup was delicious! Everyone went back for seconds and we almost finished off the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bimboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a great soup. The only thing I didn't have that the recipe called for were the green onions and the dry ranch seasoning that I had was the fiesta kind, and I only had half a packet. This turned out great. I didn't use the flour or the celery ( don't care for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was very good. I think I used giant potatoes so I needed to add about 2 more cups of broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was really good the only thing that I did different was add in some carrot and and part of the cheese. I would however add in more bacon next time and more green onion at the end over all it was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harris

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was really good. The only thing I would change is adding more bacon but that is just personal preference. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
A great winter soup! Love this recipe and so does every one else who has tasted it. Have made it quite a few times now and it's definately deserving of the 5 stars! The seasoning package really makes this soup, don't skip or substitute for it.. this soup tastes even better re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I loved the taste of this soup. I did add 2 small sweet potatos and 1/2 a rutabaga diced up and oh yah a whole pound of crispy bacon! Thanks for the great base. . I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickyV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This soup is amazing! Very rich though, so I serve it in a bread-bowl... tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I adapted this so I could make it in my crockpot. I cut up the potatoes and threw them in the crockpot with the chicken broth, a bunch of pepper and a can of evaporated milk. I cooked them on HIGH until an hour before dinner. I mashed them slightly with my potato masher. I did use a whole package of hickory smoked bacon, cooking to crisp. When the bacon was done and out of the hot pan, I fried the veggies in the bacon grease. I didn't have celery but I did have one red pepper and one yellow that I added to onion with a little garlic. After I stirred in the bacon, veggies and cheese, I let it warm through on LOW, then turned off the crockpot so I could stir in the sour cream. Great tasting soup, I was quite surprized though it was a little salty. Great with homemade bread on a rainy night. NOTE: I did not need any flour in my soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States