Hearty Potato, Bacon and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
My entire family thought this was one of the best potato soups we have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Thoroughly enjoyed the soup!....I added Cayenne pepper....Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Each year on Xmas eve we have soup and fresh bread and last year we had this and it was voted that we would have this every year. You can't go wrong with this soup. Thanks Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feldster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Excellent. We wished we had doubled it, because it was gobbled down quickly and we had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Very good soup and easy to make. I used low-fat and no-fat sour cream and couldn't taste a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was an instant hit with the entire family. We all loved it. Even better with a handful of grated cheese sprinkled over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This soup was too strong for my taste when I served it in its original chunky form, as recommended. However, I added some water and pureed it in a blender so that the richness of the potatoes could balance the tartness of the sour cream...it was still a bit too strong for me, but vastly improved. Recommendation: add the water a little at a time until you reach your desired consistency and taste. You don't want to overdo it - once it's in there, you can't take it out. Also, I made it without the bacon and it seemed just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is very good indeed. I made this with English bacon and it's excellent. I used a pack which is actually six slices. As I had no sour cream, I used thick yogurt, and it came out very very nicely indeed. Thanks so much for sharing, Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great - was fun to cook this!! For the liquid - I used 3 cups water and 1 and 1/4 cup of evaporated milk. I also was out of bouillon cubes - so just used a lot of salt/pepper/beau monde seasoning. I let this soup simmer for an hour on low - with lots of stirring. I also decreased the sour cream - I only had 1 cup!! I mixed dried parsley in with the egg yolk/sour cream and let sit before mixing with the soup. Deeee-licious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I LOVED this soup! Husband - who isn't a big potato fan - thought that it was pretty good. The only changes I made were to use canned chickie broth instead of water, and I didn't bother with the egg yolks. I very nearly used heavy cream instead of sour cream, and I am so glad I didn't. It was so delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks, Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States