Hearty Potato, Bacon and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Excellent. We wished we had doubled it, because it was gobbled down quickly and we had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Rich and creamy but I added a cup of shredded cheese to the recipe! Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
My entire family thought this was one of the best potato soups we have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
GOod, nice flavor. I used 3 onions and 5 potatoes. The recipe calls for perhaps a bit too many onions. Next time I make it I will use 2 or less onions. And use a big pot! Taste overall is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was an instant hit with the entire family. We all loved it. Even better with a handful of grated cheese sprinkled over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great - was fun to cook this!! For the liquid - I used 3 cups water and 1 and 1/4 cup of evaporated milk. I also was out of bouillon cubes - so just used a lot of salt/pepper/beau monde seasoning. I let this soup simmer for an hour on low - with lots of stirring. I also decreased the sour cream - I only had 1 cup!! I mixed dried parsley in with the egg yolk/sour cream and let sit before mixing with the soup. Deeee-licious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a delicious soup recipe base--streamlined, tasty, and nutritious. Thanks, Rita! I modified this recipe to create my first successful cream soup. I don't eat meat, and so substituted finely sliced garlic, green onions, and minced celery for the bacon. I started by sauteing the yellow onions, added the celery and green onions, and then added the garlic after the onions had softened so it wouldn't burn and become bitter. I didn't have bouillon on hand, but the vegetables made up for it. I added salt to taste to replace the salt from the bouillon. I substituted plain yogurt and a dash of lime juice for the sour cream. I took the advice of another reviewer and added several ladles of the hot soup to the separate bowl containing the egg/yogurt mixture. I mixed that well, and then returned the mixture to the hot soup pot. I took the suggestion of several others and added cayenne pepper. My partner loved it! The cayenne pepper is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Thoroughly enjoyed the soup!....I added Cayenne pepper....Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Each year on Xmas eve we have soup and fresh bread and last year we had this and it was voted that we would have this every year. You can't go wrong with this soup. Thanks Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feldster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is very good indeed. I made this with English bacon and it's excellent. I used a pack which is actually six slices. As I had no sour cream, I used thick yogurt, and it came out very very nicely indeed. Thanks so much for sharing, Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States