Hearty Potato, Bacon and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This could use a little more seasoning than the way it is written. Also, it does not reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by island jen
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I made this recipe tonight according to most of the directions, I used Knorr vegetable bouillon mixed with the water called for in the recipe according to the directions (1tsp/cup) and added some finely chopped carrot for colour. It was FABULOUS, my husband and I loved it and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Rich and creamy but I added a cup of shredded cheese to the recipe! Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a delicious soup recipe base--streamlined, tasty, and nutritious. Thanks, Rita! I modified this recipe to create my first successful cream soup. I don't eat meat, and so substituted finely sliced garlic, green onions, and minced celery for the bacon. I started by sauteing the yellow onions, added the celery and green onions, and then added the garlic after the onions had softened so it wouldn't burn and become bitter. I didn't have bouillon on hand, but the vegetables made up for it. I added salt to taste to replace the salt from the bouillon. I substituted plain yogurt and a dash of lime juice for the sour cream. I took the advice of another reviewer and added several ladles of the hot soup to the separate bowl containing the egg/yogurt mixture. I mixed that well, and then returned the mixture to the hot soup pot. I took the suggestion of several others and added cayenne pepper. My partner loved it! The cayenne pepper is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
it's a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a GREAT base recipe! Definitely needs you to add spices to your own tastes (I added garlic, a sprinkle of cayenne and some other various spices). Really great. My whole family including my picky 3 year old loved this. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Not as good as I expected from the reveiws, although not bad either. Could use more thickening. I found myself adding salt as I ate it. There is a big problem with the cooking instructions -- it says to add the dairy to the soup directly, but if you do so, it will immediately curdle and clump. That can be avoided by simply taking a bit of the hot soup liquid and mixing it with the dairy in a small bowl, and then adding it back to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I substituted chicken broth for the water, omitted the bouillon cube, and added a pinch of cayenne pepper and this was delicious. A great quick meal on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
GOod, nice flavor. I used 3 onions and 5 potatoes. The recipe calls for perhaps a bit too many onions. Next time I make it I will use 2 or less onions. And use a big pot! Taste overall is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe. When I was in high school, I had an operation that required my jaw be wired shut for 6 weeks. So all my food had to be liquid and my father used to make me a nice mixture of bacon, eggs, potato with milk. I was hoping this recipe would be like it. No luck. I substituted half and half for the sour cream. The result was a pastelike tasteless mass whose only flavor was of too strong onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States