Hearty Potato, Bacon and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This could use a little more seasoning than the way it is written. Also, it does not reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by island jen
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I made this recipe tonight according to most of the directions, I used Knorr vegetable bouillon mixed with the water called for in the recipe according to the directions (1tsp/cup) and added some finely chopped carrot for colour. It was FABULOUS, my husband and I loved it and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Rich and creamy but I added a cup of shredded cheese to the recipe! Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a delicious soup recipe base--streamlined, tasty, and nutritious. Thanks, Rita! I modified this recipe to create my first successful cream soup. I don't eat meat, and so substituted finely sliced garlic, green onions, and minced celery for the bacon. I started by sauteing the yellow onions, added the celery and green onions, and then added the garlic after the onions had softened so it wouldn't burn and become bitter. I didn't have bouillon on hand, but the vegetables made up for it. I added salt to taste to replace the salt from the bouillon. I substituted plain yogurt and a dash of lime juice for the sour cream. I took the advice of another reviewer and added several ladles of the hot soup to the separate bowl containing the egg/yogurt mixture. I mixed that well, and then returned the mixture to the hot soup pot. I took the suggestion of several others and added cayenne pepper. My partner loved it! The cayenne pepper is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
it's a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a GREAT base recipe! Definitely needs you to add spices to your own tastes (I added garlic, a sprinkle of cayenne and some other various spices). Really great. My whole family including my picky 3 year old loved this. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Not as good as I expected from the reveiws, although not bad either. Could use more thickening. I found myself adding salt as I ate it. There is a big problem with the cooking instructions -- it says to add the dairy to the soup directly, but if you do so, it will immediately curdle and clump. That can be avoided by simply taking a bit of the hot soup liquid and mixing it with the dairy in a small bowl, and then adding it back to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I substituted chicken broth for the water, omitted the bouillon cube, and added a pinch of cayenne pepper and this was delicious. A great quick meal on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
GOod, nice flavor. I used 3 onions and 5 potatoes. The recipe calls for perhaps a bit too many onions. Next time I make it I will use 2 or less onions. And use a big pot! Taste overall is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe. When I was in high school, I had an operation that required my jaw be wired shut for 6 weeks. So all my food had to be liquid and my father used to make me a nice mixture of bacon, eggs, potato with milk. I was hoping this recipe would be like it. No luck. I substituted half and half for the sour cream. The result was a pastelike tasteless mass whose only flavor was of too strong onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States