Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
The first time I made this bread it turned out like a hockey puck...but the inside tatsed great. So I gave it a 2nd try. I had to adjust the flour, water and yeast levels to get it right and I decided to have my bread machind do the dough and I baked it in the oven myself. After the modificatsion it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Lovely taste and texture. I do not have a bread machine, so I just made it by hand and baked it at 350 for about 30 minutes. I also added some oats along with all the other seeds and grains. Yummy. Healthy. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is pretty good, for as healthy a bread as it is. I did make some substitutions to use the things I had on hand (I was out of sunflower seeds and didn't have any millet, so I doubled the amount of all the other seeds called for in the recipe). I also cut the sugar down to 1 tbs. because my dad is on a cancer diet, and is limiting his sugars. I used all whole wheat flour as well. Other than that, I made it as written. Maybe it was the use of all whole wheat flour, but my dough was REALLY stiff...I added some extra water, but it was still pretty dry. The loaf rose just fine, and the bread had a decent texture, but the next time I make this, I'll use honey instead of sugar and add a bit more water to add moisture. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is amazingly good bread! I didn't have millet or Quinoa, so I substituted some poppyseed and 7 grain cereal. It turned out just perfect as a double recipe, using the 2 pound whole wheat, light crust setting on the bread maker. When you double the recipe, it calls for too much yeast - so check that. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is THE best bread I have ever made. So easy and so tasty! Even my picky husband said "mummmm" I like more nuts and grains added wal-nuts and next time I will add more grains. Also I used stevia instead of white sugar. I will keep this recipe forever. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is a great, easy recipe for a really tasty loaf of bread! I don't have a bread machine, so made with my KitchenAid mixer. Put all of the ingredients, except the flour, in first, mixed that and let it sit a few minutes till nice and foamy, then added the flour and mixed with dough hook for about 7 minutes. Let raise in a greased bowl for 30 minutes, turned out, shaped and baked in loaf pan at 375 degrees for 40 minutes. I tented the loaf with foil after the first 15 minutes as it was already browning nicely. Also, to make up for the small size I just recalculated with the "servings" tool to make 16 servings and it came out perfectly. I use a 4 1/2 x 8 inch loaf pan, which I just learned is a true loaf size to get a nice height and shape. I will make this bread often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plum Mojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This bread is delicious! I couldn't find millet so I doubled the sesame seeds. I didn't have powdered milk, but when the dough was a little too dry and wouldn't stay together, I drizzled in some warm milk for extra liquid. I thought I had some bread flour, but it turned out to be self-rising. I decided to use it anyway since people complained of small dense loaves. My loaf rose nicely and didn't seem dense at all! I still added the full amount of yeast. My bread machine is capable of making a 2 pound loaf, so next time I will modify the serving size to 16. Wonderful bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKWILSON88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is ok as is, especially if you like a really dense, kinda dry bread....but I made changes to make it more light and fluffy.. Its a FAVE in this house... I double the recipe, only using the dough cycle in my bread machine. Then I used EVOO instead of butter, added 2 tsp. dough enhancer, use 1/3 cup honey TOTAL in the doubled recipe inplace of brown sugar, replace one Tbs vital wheat gluten flour for every cup of whole wheat flour used, and also used WHITE whole wheat flour instead of regular/red hard wheat flour. When dough cycle is finished, I divide in half, shape loaves and place into loaf pans...rise for 30 minutes or so and then bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes. Rub cold butter on top of loaves as soon as you pull the pans out of the oven (keeps top of loaves soft)...let rest in pans for 10 minutes and then remove and let cool on cooling rack. Thank you so much for this recipe! I even turned my Hubby into a wholegrain lover, and that is saying A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I hate when people review a recipe and have changed it so much that it's not even the recipe they're reviewing BUT - I never use powdered milk, so I did sub whole milk, and I prefer honey to processed sugar, so I did make those two changes. It was a very good bread. Tasted great toasted as a sandwich, and buttered up and fried as a grilled cheese sandwich. It didn't have as much depth as I would have hoped for, but was still very good. If you want a crispier crust, take it out of the bread machine after the dough cycle, transfer to a loaf, and let rise a second time, until double. Then bake for 30 minutes or until the internal temperature hits 190. This trick leads to high, beautiful loaves with real crusts (as opposed to some bread machines!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is one of the best breads I've made to date. I have been searching for a great multigrain and found it here. It is even more delicious when toasted. I don't have a breadmaker, so I made a few modifications. I mixed the water with 2 tbsp honey (instead of brown sugar), then added 1 tbsp. yeast (based on some of the comments posted) and let sit 10 min. I also used 1 tbsp of whole milk instead of powder. I didn't have millet so doubled up on the quinoa and it gave the bread a nice crunchy texture. Baked 375 for 30 min. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States