Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this recipe. I've made it multiple times already. It's light and fluffy, yet so healthy and nutty with great texture. This one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I'm going to have to give this bread only four stars because I made the MISTAKE of listening to other reviewers and adding two tablespoons of molasses instead of brown sugar. The bread is the perfect texture, is full of grains and fiber, and cooked beautifully - but tastes FAR too strongly of molasses. I definitely should have just followed the recipe as it was and listened to the original cook instead of the improvised additions. I am sure this would have been 5 stars had I followed the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I found this to be a great foundation recipe to modify to your own taste. Mt first try I used all whole wheat flour as I didn't have any bread flour in the house. Found it to be a bit too heavy, so the next time I added the bread flour and a little potato flour, plus a tad more water. It came out perfectly, with tons of flavor, texture, but not quite so heavy. Make it every week now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Based on previous reviews, I added about 50% more seeds. I also let is ferment for a whole night in the fridge and baked next day in regular oven. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I did a couple things differently. I increased the water to just shy of 1 cup instead of the 3/4 cup the recipe calls for. I also added 1 teaspoon of poppy seeds (because I like them) and I toasted the sesame seeds in the toaster oven before adding to the mix. I also sprinkled some of the toasted sesame seeds on top of the loaf as it began to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I have to have made this at least 20 times now (frequently requested by husband!). I found all the grains in the bulk food section of my local PCC. I follow the recipe, but make rolls instead of a loaf. I brush the top with egg white/water before baking to make them shiney. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I love making this! the loaf is gone 1/2 an hour after it's out of the bread machine! I do not have quinoa or millet. I add 1 cup of rolled oats, skip the bread flour and use 2 cups wheat flour and add 1/2 tablespoon more of all the other seeds. It comes out PERFECT every time! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Had doubts about this bread as the dough is very stiff. Made it without a bread machine and had to give the first rise 1 1/2 to 2 hrs before shaping and letting rise again. Did not have millet or quinoa so subbed poppyseed and amaranth. Turned out with a lovely texture and nice shape. Excellent multigrain bread that you can change to your liking. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have made this many many times in my breadmaker. I use the breadmaker for a double batch of the dough, then knead, rise and bake 2 loaves. It is impossible to keep in the house as my family eats it so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIWIK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Amazing! I use honey instead of brown sugar and I double and bake in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes. Everyone that tries it loves it. Even my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earnold

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States