Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was really, really good. I subbed in 3 T of honey for the brown sugar and ran it through the dough cycle and baked it at 350 for about 25 minutes. Lightly sweet, nicely chewy, a little crunch from the seeds-this one will go in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
We LOVE this bread. I make at least a loaf a week - we love it for breakfast - in the toaster with almond butter and it also makes an amazing sandwich! It's definitely our favorite weekly loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I had to make some adjustments since I don't have a bread machine. I make about 4 loaves a week of this break. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was a great start to yummy bread. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I altered the recipe. I replaced the water and dry milk with 3/4 c. whole milk. I used 2 T. butter and replaced the sugar with 3 T. honey and 2 T. molasses. Also, I ground all the seeds in a clean coffee grinder for about 8 seconds before I added them to the flours. Since I didn't use a bread machine, I combined the flours, seeds, salt and yeast. Then I heated the liquid ingredients to 115 degrees and stirred it into the dry mix. I let the dough rest for 20 mins. before kneading for 5. Then it took 2 hours for the dough to rise. I shaped it and gave it another hour to rise again. It baked at 350 for 30 mins., and was the most beautiful loaf I've made in a long time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The best bread I've found for both the breadmaker and to bake in the oven! Like other reviewers, I double the loaf, add extra seeds, and substitute the brown sugar for honey and molasses. Makes a delicious loaf, just the right texture! In my breadmaker, I use a 1.0 lb setting for a single batch, and a 2.0 for a double. The light crust setting works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This bread was wonderful! I didn't have sunflower seeds or flax, so used sesame seeds and more of the millet and quinoa to compensate for the difference. I also didn't have milk powder but used milk instead. I read the reviews which stated this was small loaf so I actually doubled the recipe for one loaf. It was a bit big, but was just the way I am used to for my white bread recipe. When preparing my dough, I choose the dough option and let mix and rise in the bread machine and then take out, form into a loaf, place in loaf pan, and let rise for another 30 minutes in oven. Then baked for 25 minutes at 350 degrees. This made the lightest bread - quite amazing for having such "heavy" ingredients. After reading other comments regarding it raising, the key to your dough rising is to make sure the water is warm, place that in the bottom of the bread machine, having fresh yeast, and always using some sort of sugar be it honey or the sugar mentioned as this "activates" the yeast. Also, make sure to raise it the full amount in the machine and if transferring to the oven, let rise another 30 minutes. Raising twice makes ALL the difference! This was light, fluffy and delicious! My husband raved about it and won't let me off the hook until I make another one! Thank you for a great recipe! **Update - I have been adding twice the amount of grains and have been replacing the butter/oil with the same amount of plain applesauce. It turns out wonderfully and much healthier for you!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a good bread. Not one of my favorite though. Its kinda small and doesnt rise well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was pretty good. I didn't have sunflower seeds, flax or millet so I used 7 grain grits and 7 grain oatmeal instead and really enjoyed that aspect of it. It didn't rise as much as I would have liked so I might add a little more yeast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great flavor and super easy to make. Had all the ingredients on hand. Changed the seeds out to what I had in the house. Wheat bulgar, organic flax seeds, and mullet seeds. Worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this recipe. I've made it multiple times already. It's light and fluffy, yet so healthy and nutty with great texture. This one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States