Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is the bread loaf i will make now on and forever, I don't have a bread machine so i added a cup more of flour and added a tbsp of gluten. I substituted honey and molasses for the brown sugar and I omitted the sunflower seeds and the bread flour for spelt flour to get 100% whole grain bread. I also used oil instead of the butter. I also like to add dissolved (in water) vitamin C tablets to my bread it always makes the bread come out better (smoother and soft) for some reason. It makes a small loaf so I will double it from now on. This makes a great gift loaf of bread, great for sandwiches, french toast, toast or with dinner. Not heavy at all either. Dh and my picky eater little sister loved it, even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
We all enjoyed it - went fast too. I also substituted for what I didn't have, so I used sunflower seeds, sesame, oats & wheat berrys. Also overnighted the dough in the fridge and rose it for an hour in the oven at ~80 deg then baked til it got to 195 deg inside the loaf. Nice rounded shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Absolutely tasty!! It's a shame it was such a small loaf.I will cut the brown sugar in half, just because I try not to use much in any recipe. Wonderful flavour & texture. I didn't have millet, but just doubled the rest of the seeds & grains(we love our nuts & seeds). I have now made this loaf a few times & instead of the brown sugar I add 2TBS. honey & 2 TBS. molasses. I also now make this into a full loaf.....so it will last a day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Fantastic recipe. I wanted a 100% whole-grain bread so I used all white wheat (white spring --Wheat Montana and King Arthur have this as do other brands, and it's a great way to get a lighter, sweeter flavored whole-wheat product) and it worked wonderfully. I used just 3 TBS of sweetener as suggested by others and as I didn't have sunflower seeds or quinoa, I used rolled oats and doubled up on the millet and flax. Great toasted. Makes a small loaf so next time I'll double. I also took mine out after dough setting and shaped it and let it rise for 30 min and placed it in a greased bread pan on a lower rack for 40 min. at 350. Delicious! Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Fabulous in the bread machine. What a shame I gave up my first machine for low carb eating. This recipe makes me sure I did the right thing in getting another! My husband commented on how good this bread was every time he ate a slice. Toasting in just made it more yummy! Use whatever seeds or grains you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
What a delicious multigrain bread. The only thing I changed was the exclusion of sunflower seeds, since I didn't have any on hand. I think next time I may add some honey or molasses and add some dried currants. Will definitely make this again with the addition of a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I love this recipe! I use molasses and honey (just a little of each) instead of the brown sugar. I also add more seeds than stated in the recipe, but it is a fantastic base. I don't own a bread machine, so I bake it at 375F until golden brown and hollow sounding when tapped (1/2 hour to 45 min). The first time I made the bread, I followed the recipe exactly as is, and the bread was wonderful--albeit a bit too sweet. It was the best peanut butter and jelly sandwich bread on earth, though. Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Wonderful! Easy to make with the bread machine. I got my ingredience in bulk at a natural food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
As per others, I cut the sugar to 3 tbs and its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Delicious recipe :) The loaf is gone! Next time I made, I think I will cut the brown sugar in half. Abite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States