Hearty Multigrain Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I've made this bread a dozen times and can never get it to adequately rise. The lower half of the loaf is especially dense. It's a shame because it has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My family LOVES this recipe. I've even had friends ask me to make them a loaf of bread. I use a bread machine and let it do the work, BUT I also elect to give the yeast time to proof before I start the dough cycle. Doing this always guarantees me a full, light, beautiful loaf of bread. We don't even buy "store" bread anymore. This is a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marysab
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Mine came out REALLY dense, not sure if it was supposed to be like that or not but I wasn't a huge fan. With that being said, the flavor was still good in the pieces i tried! I guess I've just found out I'm not a dense bread kinda gal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is a great, chewy, healthy and delicious bread. I do not have a bread maker, and after reading several reviews, I tweaked it a bit to leave out the white flour. I used 1 1/2 cups spelt flour, 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, and I also added Chia to the mix (1 tablespoon). Instead of butter, I used Earth Balance (I'm dairy free), and added a bit more water when the dough mixture wasn't really getting it together in my stand mixer. Then I used a spatula to combine and then I kneaded for a minute or so. If you're using spelt flour, you don't want to knead it too much or you'll end up with a crumbly mess. Placed in a warm place to rise for 1/2 an hour -- which it didn't really rise that much. I used a package of active dry yeast for whole grain breads. I also substituted honey and molasses for the sugar. (1/3 cup honey and a drizzle of molasses.) As I wanted a really hearty bread, I also added about 1/4 cup of rolled oats. Placed in a greased bread dish and baked on the bottom rack of the oven at 350 for 35 min. The next time I am doing this bread, I'm going to put an egg wash on it, as the top was a little dry. But it is great in the toaster with some (fake) butter and honey spread on it. Nooom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This makes the most amazing French Toast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe as written & when the cycle was done it was evident that the bread had not risen, it was extremely dry and broke apart when I took it out of the basket. This may be a great recipe with modifications but not as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Absolutely amazing! Like others, I don't have a bread machine so I baked on 350F for about 40 minutes. I couldn't find millet and I added an extra tablespoon of all the nuts, but otherwise followed the instructions exactly. I will never buy store bought multigrain bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious, it is even better than Oroweat 12 grain which was my favorite and also one of the most expensive loaves on the rack. Thank you for the awesome and again very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTheGusto
Home Town: Vashon Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was a yummy bread. I made a couple of substitutions based on what was on hand, but in essence I followed the recipe. Due to a couple of changes I had to make to yeast amounts for high altitude and baking in the oven it didn't rise as much as I would have liked. Not the fault of the recipe, but my adjustments. Next time I'll use a little more yeast, and, oh yes, there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very wonderful bread, I am vegan and I added coconut oil verses butter, i also added pumkin seeds by mistake, thought I had sunflower seeds in my hand... but no old age I guess... however, what a lovely recipe. I personally didn't have a bread machine either and mixed it all up until combined, then let it rest for 8 minutes. Flop it out on to a lightly floured board and knead it for a few turns, sprinkle a little more flour and knead for a full 10 minutes (just think of that last guy that broke your heart and what you'd like to do to him; or lady if you're a fellow here) :) . Place in a bowl and cover tightly with plastic wrap and place in a warm place for an hour and a half. after rising punch down gently and shape into your loaf, mine was round. let rise one more time for at very least 30 minutes. then place the loaf on a stone or pan and heat your oven to 350. When the oven is heated now set the timer for 40 minutes. Yup... it's a little rising trick I found out by mistake one day. Works pretty good. GREAT BREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States