Hearty Mixed Bean Stew with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This soup is wonderful and very easy! I used dry pinto beans and dry baby lima beans and soaked them 8 hrs. I threw the soaked beans, the sausage (I used chicken sausage), 3 chopped carrots, 2 chopped stalks of celery (for a little extra veggies), the sun dried tomatoes and chicken broth in a pot and cooked it. (I actually used my pressure cooker and it was done in 10 mins.) When it was done I added a can of kidney beans, drained. The flavor was amazing and I didn't add anything extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Good basic, Italian bean stew recipe. I was surprised the directions didn't mention soaking the beans first, but perhaps it was assuming you'd know that. I soaked 16 oz. of mixed beans (pinto and gr. northern) overnight, and added a can of red kidney beans when I drained the beans in the AM. 10 c. of broth would have been too much for a stew; I used about 7 1/2 cups. I also added 1 med. chopped onion, 1 minced clove of garlic, some chopped fresh mushrooms, and 1/2 tsp. dried basil. Yummy with fresh Italian bread on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My hubby and I thought this was pretty good. I wasn't really that crazy about the sundried tomatoes in it. They have a sweet taste to them that we thought didn't really go with it. We both agreed that if we make this again that diced toms would work better. I did add a pretty large head of chopped kale about 20 minutes before it was done. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good. I didn't have pinto beans, so I used black, navy, and kidney beans. Other than that, cooked it right to the recipe. It's a great stew. very hearty, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
this was a great staple type recipe to get started. I used red kidney beans brown beans and green broad beans, I also added a couple dashes of sage, a splash of EV Olive oil and a dash of oregano to give it some smokey depth. I was quite delighted with the end result - I will use this again! mmm- perfect for the change of summer into fall in canada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. I used far too many beans so mine took FOREVER. I did have to soak them overnight and even then they weren't anywhere near soft enough to cook - even all day. I cooked for five hours on high and then another three or four. I did add the sausage, but then ham and some leftover chicken. I added onion in addition to the other vegetables. I found that 16 ounces of chicken broth was more than enough. I used the loose pork sausage instead of the kind in the casing - and boy is it spicy. An outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was really enjoyable. I tried making a mixed bean soup recipe before and it didn't turn out so great so I was glad to find this recipe. I used a 15 beans mix I had and it was lovely, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I never cooked anything with beans before. I got this recipe in an email from Swansons. They say nothing about soaking the beans. After slow cooking this all day, we're having soup and grilled cheese for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States