Hearty Mince Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Great recipe...added beetroot and peas....tasted amazing....very simple recipe and easy too.....the family couldn't have enough....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was pretty good, with a few modifications. Like several other reviewers, I used a can of diced tomatoes with the juice instead of plain tomato juice, ditched the water for a bit extra beef stock, and didn't use sherry. I added a bit of garlic salt to the meat and onions while they were cooking (and also ditched the margarine, the grease was enough for the onions to cook in), and also made sure to drain the excess fat so it wouldn't get greasy later. I also left out the celery salt and pepper and instead added in some oregano, dill weed, and basil to the sauce mix, along with a bit extra worcestershire sauce. Like others, I initially had sauce that was still too watery after the sour cream was added, so I turned up the heat to boil some of the excess away (be sure to stir often if you try this, it will attempt to stick), and then turned it back down to low heat and let it thicken while I made a salad and some garlic rolls. By the time I was done with those (about 7-8 minutes) it had thickened nicely, with no excess watery sauce. I will most likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Awesome...i used homemade whole milk yogurt in place of sour cream and i rinsed and drained the ground beef to make it a bit healthier...it got raves from everyone! None is left :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
It definitely needs alot of tweaking. Followed some of the others advice and omitted water but increased beef broth to 2 cups and added garlic powder, basil, oregano and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
My family thought this was great. After looking at other reviews I added about a tsp of garlic powder and after tasting it after adding the sour cream and sherry I added a tsp more of sherry. Thanks for the recipe PETEZOE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I rarely stick to a recipe exactly but I do with this one. I make it a lot during the cold fall and winter months and it's never failed to please. Tonight we had it with a side caesar salad and a couple glasses of red wine. It's a household favorite. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I really loved this! I made slight changes based on reviews; I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of tomato juice. I used 2c beef broth instead of water. I used 1tbsp worcestershire; 1/4c wine; added basil & oregano. Just about everything else the same as written - and I did top with Parmesan & bread crumbs. It was rather unique and delicious - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I really loved this! All I added to the recipe was a tsp each of basil and oregano. Another cook said it was basically hamburger helper, and maybe it's because I'm a college student, but I love it either way! Even fried up some zucchini with it and it was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I first had this recipe when staying with a friend. I made a note of it so I could look it up (had to make sure it was THIS recipe!) and make it for my family. We love it. I've made it with some substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients, and I've made it according to the directions (except I always use butter!). It's always turned out well. Sometimes I have a hard time getting my family to eat leftovers but I never have an issue with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The only ones in my house that liked this were the dogs. I found it to be very bland, even after adding some garlic to try and kick up some flavor. For all the comments about Hamburger Helper, I would prefer the box stuff to this. I did however find that the noodles came out perfectly cooked, and had wonderful texture to them. Just too bland of a dish for our liking. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States