Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This lives up to the recipe name, but we found the meatballs missing a bit of flavor. Made tons of soup so make sure you have containers for freezing. A great way of getting in all your vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
My family loves this recipe and I have passed it on to my friends. I do however not add the mixed vegetables. I do use ALL bullion for ease. They look forward to having this soup! EMB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Awfully darn tasty. I did not use as much liquid as called for, and added fresh parsley, bay leaves and more pepper and salt in meatballs. Even hubby and kids liked, that in itself is a miracle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was very easy to make and took little time in preparation. Great idea for any evening. Everyone in my family loved it. Next time, I'll have to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Since I'm on a low carb lifestyle I didn't try however my husband and 3 children (world's pickiest eaters) were very positive about it. I used canned vegetables (corn, baby carrots, Leisure peas, green beans) instead of frozen since they prefer this type of vegetable and it came out great. I served it with cheese bread. Very good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I made this soup for myself and my boyfriend and we loved it! I substituted extra lean beef and 1 can of tomato sauce for stewed (not a big fan). Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Very good, hearty soup! My daughter and I made this, and had cornbread on the side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
When I was a child my Grandmother used to make "meatball soup." I have asked her numerous times for the recipe, but she could never tell me because it was a "kitchen sink" soup. Well this soup tasted just like I remember it! I thought it needed more broth, so I added 2 more cups of water to it. I also added 2 cups of celery. This made for a lot of veggies! Also, 1 lb of meat may be a lot. I should have made the meatballs a bit smaller, but I ended up with about 60 meatballs the size I made them. (I also added garlic powder to them) My meatballs came out a bit dry, so next time I will add an extra egg. Only other thing is this makes a lot of soup, so get ready to freeze batches. Thank you Judy Henry, this is going into my recipe box and will be made every winter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used premade frozen meatballs for this recipe and medium pasta shells instead of the alphabet pasta. Wow was this ever so good! Everyone ate it up and I got lots of compliments and asked to make it again for the weekend! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
A VERY GOOD SOUP.VERY SIMPLE TO MAKE. I ADDED DICED POTATOES TO IT. THIS IS A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States