Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Anyone who doesn't rave over this soup must have done something wrong. Our family doesn't usually love soup so I don't make it often but decided to give this a whirl after ordering something similar at a restaurant. I made a few changes. I added cubed red potatoes, diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes, onions, baby bella mushrooms, two cloves of garlic, basil and a bay leaf. Topped each bowl with parmesean cheese. It was FANTASTIC!! You can really add just about anything you like to a recipe like this. I also used elbow macaroni because it was all I had on hand. The aroma was so wonderful. My husband wasn't excited when he saw that I was making soup for dinner but he quickly changed his mind after the first bite. He went back for thirds. Even my kids who are picky eaters asked for more. To date this is the absolute BEST recipe I've found on this site and I've tried many!! Thanks for sharing this. I'll make it over and over. Very easy to make too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
Very Good. I used fresh vegetables of my choosing. I also increased the water by 3/4 cup and added an 8oz. can of tomato sauce for a little extra body. I added a tablespon of parsley and 2 bay leaves. Que excellente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This makes a pretty tasty soup, but I had to make some adjustments based on what I had on hand. Instead of dried onion soup mix, I used 1 cup each of chopped fresh onions and celery, slowly sauteed over low heat for 10 minutes in 1 T. oil and then added 4 beef bouillon cubes along with the water. I substituted beef broth for the chicken broth, a can of diced tomatoes for the stewed tomatoes, and then left out the canned green beans because I didn't have any. I also added a cup of chopped cabbage to add some more fiber to the soup. I reduced the bread crumbs and parmesan cheese in the meatballs to 1/2 cup each (otherwise the meatballs would be all filler) and added 1/2 tasp. of Italian seasoning. I thought it needed more seasoning when it was done, so I added some dried basil and oregano to it. I also added extra beef broth to balance out the extra veggies I put in. This is a good, hearty basic recipe that you can adjust depending on the veggies, broth and seasoning you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
When I was a child my Grandmother used to make "meatball soup." I have asked her numerous times for the recipe, but she could never tell me because it was a "kitchen sink" soup. Well this soup tasted just like I remember it! I thought it needed more broth, so I added 2 more cups of water to it. I also added 2 cups of celery. This made for a lot of veggies! Also, 1 lb of meat may be a lot. I should have made the meatballs a bit smaller, but I ended up with about 60 meatballs the size I made them. (I also added garlic powder to them) My meatballs came out a bit dry, so next time I will add an extra egg. Only other thing is this makes a lot of soup, so get ready to freeze batches. Thank you Judy Henry, this is going into my recipe box and will be made every winter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Awfully darn tasty. I did not use as much liquid as called for, and added fresh parsley, bay leaves and more pepper and salt in meatballs. Even hubby and kids liked, that in itself is a miracle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LADYDRAKE
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This recipe was great! Here's what I did a bit different. Only used 16oz bag of frozen veggies and used orzo pasta because that's what I had on hand. The bread crumbs were Italian breadcrumbs and I added about 1tsp Kosher salt and 2tsp of adobo (you could sub Lawry's or poultry season) and 3 eggs total but that was to 2.25lbs of ground beef. It was a perfect ratio of vegetables to pasta to broth meatballs. I added just under 60 meatballs to the soup and froze the rest.The last change was adding a small can of tomato sauce. The recipe for me made about 9 servings and of course I have about 100 mini meatballs for another use! I think if I hadn't added the additional seasoning to the meatballs, they would have been a bit bland. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
My family loves this recipe and I have passed it on to my friends. I do however not add the mixed vegetables. I do use ALL bullion for ease. They look forward to having this soup! EMB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used premade frozen meatballs for this recipe and medium pasta shells instead of the alphabet pasta. Wow was this ever so good! Everyone ate it up and I got lots of compliments and asked to make it again for the weekend! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
It was great!!! A big time do over. Even my kids loved it !! 4&8 . Thank-you .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We used sea shell pasta instead of alphabet. Minor adjustments really. But this was really great. My wife ate it about 4 different times for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States