Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Anyone who doesn't rave over this soup must have done something wrong. Our family doesn't usually love soup so I don't make it often but decided to give this a whirl after ordering something similar at a restaurant. I made a few changes. I added cubed red potatoes, diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes, onions, baby bella mushrooms, two cloves of garlic, basil and a bay leaf. Topped each bowl with parmesean cheese. It was FANTASTIC!! You can really add just about anything you like to a recipe like this. I also used elbow macaroni because it was all I had on hand. The aroma was so wonderful. My husband wasn't excited when he saw that I was making soup for dinner but he quickly changed his mind after the first bite. He went back for thirds. Even my kids who are picky eaters asked for more. To date this is the absolute BEST recipe I've found on this site and I've tried many!! Thanks for sharing this. I'll make it over and over. Very easy to make too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This soup is just alright. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was a good, hearty soup. The recipe made quite a lot. It just wasn't anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was a really good and filling soup. I will make a couple of changes next time I make it. I will omit the tomatoes and the stock, and just add more water, since I used chicken soup pkt instead of onion there was plenty of flavour. I will also use less parmesan. Other than that the soup is really good as is, and even better the next day when the flavours have had time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This makes a pretty tasty soup, but I had to make some adjustments based on what I had on hand. Instead of dried onion soup mix, I used 1 cup each of chopped fresh onions and celery, slowly sauteed over low heat for 10 minutes in 1 T. oil and then added 4 beef bouillon cubes along with the water. I substituted beef broth for the chicken broth, a can of diced tomatoes for the stewed tomatoes, and then left out the canned green beans because I didn't have any. I also added a cup of chopped cabbage to add some more fiber to the soup. I reduced the bread crumbs and parmesan cheese in the meatballs to 1/2 cup each (otherwise the meatballs would be all filler) and added 1/2 tasp. of Italian seasoning. I thought it needed more seasoning when it was done, so I added some dried basil and oregano to it. I also added extra beef broth to balance out the extra veggies I put in. This is a good, hearty basic recipe that you can adjust depending on the veggies, broth and seasoning you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I used frozen vegatables, pre-made frozen meatballs, no pasta and more spices than originally called for, but the soup tastes good. We will see what the family says in a little while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYANN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White Bluff, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This was the best soup Just like one of my friends us to make try it you'll like it pass it on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I tried this last night and I made a few changes: left out the pasta, used 24 oz of already cooked meatballs, added 2 stalks of celery (chopped), added 3 cups chopped potatoes, added 1 T dried parsley, 2 bay leaves and 1/2 tsp. of black pepper, added 1 can (8 oz) of tomato sauce, used a 20 oz pkg. of mixed vegetables and omitted the can of green beans, and also added 1 extra cup of water. I served this with "Quick and Easy Cheese Bread" from this site. Everyone (except me) enjoyed the soup. Don't know right now if I'll be making this dish again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very very good, whole family enjoyed. I will add this to my recipe file. Thanks Judy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States