Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
YUM! I subbed beef broth for chicken and also added some V8 for flavor (an old soup trick my MIL taught me), and used pasta I had on hand. I took off one star because I found the soup needed a lot more liquid than called for - I kept adding water as it cooked. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Awesome soup!! I too used premade frozen meatballs, because that's what I had on hand. I also browned up some potatoes, and added corn to this recipe!! So yummy!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was good and something I will make again. Very hearty. However, there is no way to form meatballs out of that combination - either you need 2 eggs (which is what I did) or you need to cut both the breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese in half. I'll probably add some spices to the meatballs next time, e.g. onion, garlic powder, oregano, worcestershire. All the packages of mixed veggies that I had on hand already included carrots and green beans, so I used frozen peas and frozen corn to make the specified amount of veggies. I made the specified amount of pasta but felt it needed a bit more, but that's my personal taste. Overall excellent and easy to tweak. Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was really good soup. I was in a hurry after working all day and then going to the grocery store. I wanted a meatball soup and found this recipe. I had frozen, premade meatballs. Only needed 1/2 the broth and left out the green beans. I added mixed vegetables with lots of carrots. Used a bowtie pasta that appealed to my toddler. It came out so good my husband and my toddler daughter loved it! I will do this again. Maybe next time I will do the meatballs myself. But, I got to say with the frozen meatballs, start to finish a half hour! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very good soup! I made the meatballs as directed, doubling it so I would have extra meatballs for another time. I baked them in the oven to minimize the grease in the soup, and they were delicious. For the soup, I used the broth and seasonings as called for, only changing a few of the veggies to suit our preference. I pretty much followed the recipe though, and it was a hit with everyone. Seriously yummy soup and one I will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was really a very good soup. Only thing I didn't like about it, and what is keeping me from the 5th star was the grease from cooking the meatballs in the prepared soup. Next time, I will brown them on the side and add them to the soup, to dispense the grease. BUT! my sons and husband really enjoyed it...good meal for my twin toddlers. If others are interested: I added a cup of V-8 juice to the soup, and also added 1 teaspoon yellow mustard, as well as two teaspoons of brown sugar to the meatball mixture. Next time, I will add diced potatoes instead of the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Made with frozen veggies and used fresh shredded parm for the meatballs. Left out the pasta. Didn't need it. This soup is thick and hearty! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
A wonderful soup not only for the fall....but any time! Serve with Italian bread and a glass of your favorite red wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrailerTrash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! My husband is not a huge vegetable fan, but he ate this great soup, even though it truns out chock full of veggies. My daughter (1 1/2) was crazy about it. I made it just as the instructions said, but if you want more of a soup texture, add some more liquid. I liked the way it turned out, thick and very hearty. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was great! It also made a lot! I had an extra half pound of hamburger and thought I'd put it in and there were almost too many meatballs for the soup. I did not add pasta but did stir in some quick cooking barley. Will make again and will try to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States