Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Easy, hearty one-bowl meal; served it with some homemade Italian bread, and it went quickly before everyone was out the door for their evening activities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is very good! I added fresh red peppers and tomatoes instead of frozen and also used orzo instead of pasta. I added some herbs and spices and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great Soup, Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My hubby was craving something like this so we tried this recipe. It turned out well. We all liked it. Even my 2 yr old that's on a healthy food strike. :) It makes 8 BIG servings! I used 1/2 sausage & 1/2 grnd turkey for the meatballs. Instead of adding the meatballs to the soup to cook, which I knew would make the soup really greasy, I broiled them, patted them with paper towels to absorb more of the grease, and then put them in once the main soup was ready. It really turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe was a plesant suprise: I followed the recipe fairly strictly, only using slightly different veggies (just what I had in my freezer and cupboard). The meat I used was ground sirloin because that's what I had. And I put a little italian seasoning in the balls. I sent some to my mom to put in dad's lunch, and she called and asked for the recipe. Boyfriend and I liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
yummy but i didint like the parmesan with the meatballs(my personal taste).i added chili powder,onion and garlic powders and a little more salt.great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this last week and am still having leftovers! Wonderful with some french bread. I substituted sausage meat for the ground beef, as that's all I had. still totally delish. I added canned corn, amongst other veggies just to clear out my pantry a little; it was soo delicious but I almost needed a larger pot as I was bordering on overflowing my big soup pot! Take into consideration what fresh vs canned veggies you may be adding to the soup. The canned stuff should be added more towards the end of cooking, because they're already quite soft and done. Everything that I put in that was fresh, was put in towards the beginning to give it more cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I LOVE this soup! I make a few changes though to suit my taste and to simplify the recipe even further - I don't bother chopping carrots or using the canned beans because my favorite frozen vegie mix already has lima beans, green beans, carrots and corn in it. I just use 2 bags of that, and one can of tomatoes. (Diced, fire-roasted is what I usually have on hand). I use tiny shells instead of alphabet pasta, and I add a couple of teaspoons of red pepper flakes and a couple of dashes of Magy. For the meatballs, I substitute ground turkey for beef, and I use seasoned bread crumbs. It is a bit time-consuming to make the bite-size meatballs, so if you're feeling impatient you can make them bigger. Or, if you like to cook with your kids - they might like rolling the meatballs - mine do. This is so good, nutritious, low fat and easy, I made it every few weeks. I highly recommend this recipe as a family staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbsoccermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Made this today and it was great! Read reviews and added what vegetables I had on hand - corn, green beans, celery, green peppers, peas (you really can't mess that part up). Added some red wine, too. Because of the grease factor from other reviews, I used 1/2 ground turkey and ground beef - I also added italian spices. My 13 year old son said it was good and that his friends would like it, too, with the meatballs! Might try cheese tortellini next time instead of plain pasta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Really tasty. I would call it meatball stew though because there was not a lot of liquid. Also use a really big pot. The recipe barely fit in the biggest pot I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States