Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LADYDRAKE
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This recipe was great! Here's what I did a bit different. Only used 16oz bag of frozen veggies and used orzo pasta because that's what I had on hand. The bread crumbs were Italian breadcrumbs and I added about 1tsp Kosher salt and 2tsp of adobo (you could sub Lawry's or poultry season) and 3 eggs total but that was to 2.25lbs of ground beef. It was a perfect ratio of vegetables to pasta to broth meatballs. I added just under 60 meatballs to the soup and froze the rest.The last change was adding a small can of tomato sauce. The recipe for me made about 9 servings and of course I have about 100 mini meatballs for another use! I think if I hadn't added the additional seasoning to the meatballs, they would have been a bit bland. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I didn't change anything and thought this recipe was OK. I think next time, I will add less vege's but throw in some celery and add V8 to the broth for flavor. It is very thick, more like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This was easy and delicious!!!! Based on the suggestions by other reviewers, here are the changes I made: I only used 2lb of frozen mixed vegetables. No others. I used rotel diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. I added 1 can of v-8 juice, 1 tbp. basil, 2 bay leaves, 2 cloves of minced garlic. I used 1.5 lbs of frozen meatballs (about 45) instead of making them. I used 2 cups of uncooked wheel pasta instead of 1 cup of alphabet. This made the EASIEST prep and my family rated it as one of their favorites. We forgot to top it with parmesan and it was still delicious. We had it with sourdough bread too. YUM!!! We will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This is a very easy and good soup. I will be making this again when I want some good soup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
YUMMY! So easy too. I added chopped celery and omitted the pasta all together because I was out, and used frozen meatballs. And it still turned out to be very filling. Goes well with some sweet corn bread. Oh yea, I also threw in 2 bay leaves and some italian seasoning. I thought that the herbs might of clashed with the onion soup mix, but it actually enhanced it. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliShaluvsfood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Culleoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Soooo good! I'm a 21-year-old college student, and it was super easy to make, not to mention super yum. I used italian sausage, onions, and cilantro and skipped the frozen veggies (I had none!). I also used 4 cups beef broth instead of water and chicken broth, and 2 cans tomatoes, italian stewed and chopped. I have lots of leftovers, and I def will make this again! Thanks~Siri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seward, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was great! I didn't have any onion soup mix, so I followed the advise of another review and finely chopped some onion and garlic and sauteed it in a little olive oil. I was using what I had available so I used a couple of chicken bullion cups and ended up using a total of 6 cups water. I only had carrots so that was the only veggies we had and some tomato juice, but just a little. I added dried basil and oregano (about a 1/4 tsp eyeballed it). Hubby loved it! I served it with grilled cheese sandwiches. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
We loved this soup, though we used home made stock and fresh veggies. A quick and easy way to make a lot of meatballs quickly is to pat the ground beef into a 1" thick square and then cut that into 1" cubes. They remain square when boiled in the soup, which looks kind of neat, but if you cook them in the oven they shrink up into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Even my picky daughter liked this! A group of my friends made a big batch of it together. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Purvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States