Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This made for a great meal and great leftovers too. This soup doesn't have a lot of broth when it's done, so you might want to add another can. Personally, I like a lot of broth, but my husband and son don't, so it was perfect for them. I didn't have canned tomatoes, so I used a can of tomato soup and added a can of water and about 2/3 cup of salsa. I also put a few shakes of red pepper. I used about 45 frozen meatballs instead of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
used ground pork for meatballs. we enjoyed this soup. Did not use the mixed veggies. Soup was thick and tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Soup is wonderful because recipes are so much more of an idea than requirement. This recipe is a great example of that. I didn't use the onion soup, I added carrots, chopped spinach and corn. I added the can of tomatoes which I think make a real difference. My meatballs were both pork and beef and I flavoured them with herbs akin to pork stuffing. The end effect was so delicious my daughter ate two bowls. BIG bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Before I give this recipe my opinionated shake, I have to admit I changed it a bit. First, I used ground turkey for the meatballs instead of beef. I added some pepper flakes to them too. I did the same soup base but I didn't have any frozen mixed vegetables, so instead I used frozen peas and corn. In addition, I used a little fresh onion, celery and added some coleslaw mix that needed using. I skipped the pasta all together. This was good, the flavor of carrots was prominent but that didn't bother my family in the least. We served it with a pinch of parm on top. My boys ate 2 huge bowls of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This soup is awesome..definitely worth making on a cold winter day. I added canned corn, frozen peas & baby spinach instead of the bag of frozen vegs & it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We loved this soup so much. I did have to substitue 2 bags of frozen mixed vegies as I was out of the other vegies and that worked out great because there was no chopping involved. I was also out of french onion soup mix so I had to substitute a dry onion soup mix I found on this site by faye522, and we ended up loving the flavor of the homemade one. The meatballs have an incredible taste, I wouldn't change a thing about them. We serve this soup with parmesan and italian bread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My ENTIRE family loved this, which is a rare thing for everyone to like the same thing! It was great!! Things I did different in meatballs: I used 2 LBS hamburger, 2 pks pork stove top stuffing instead of bread crumbs, 4 eggs, 1/2 cup of water. Soup: I did everything it asked for besides dry onion soup mix, frozen mixed vegs. Instead I added canned corn, canned chopped chilies, chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS89
Home Town: Holtville, California, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was so good! I used shells instead of alphabet noodles and provolone instead of the Parmesan cheese. My fiance said the texture of the meatballs was wonderful! I added some paprika, and garlic powder for extra zing. I love that you can add so many different ingredients to this soup and it will still be really good. Thanks! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeee8998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very good soup, I used shredded cabbage, added 2 crushed fresh tomatoes, add some celery, and green pepper (instead of mixed veggies), and instead of the pasta, I used 1/2 cup uncooked rice. It tasted really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We used sea shell pasta instead of alphabet. Minor adjustments really. But this was really great. My wife ate it about 4 different times for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States