Hearty Meatball Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This made for a great meal and great leftovers too. This soup doesn't have a lot of broth when it's done, so you might want to add another can. Personally, I like a lot of broth, but my husband and son don't, so it was perfect for them. I didn't have canned tomatoes, so I used a can of tomato soup and added a can of water and about 2/3 cup of salsa. I also put a few shakes of red pepper. I used about 45 frozen meatballs instead of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
used ground pork for meatballs. we enjoyed this soup. Did not use the mixed veggies. Soup was thick and tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Soup is wonderful because recipes are so much more of an idea than requirement. This recipe is a great example of that. I didn't use the onion soup, I added carrots, chopped spinach and corn. I added the can of tomatoes which I think make a real difference. My meatballs were both pork and beef and I flavoured them with herbs akin to pork stuffing. The end effect was so delicious my daughter ate two bowls. BIG bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Before I give this recipe my opinionated shake, I have to admit I changed it a bit. First, I used ground turkey for the meatballs instead of beef. I added some pepper flakes to them too. I did the same soup base but I didn't have any frozen mixed vegetables, so instead I used frozen peas and corn. In addition, I used a little fresh onion, celery and added some coleslaw mix that needed using. I skipped the pasta all together. This was good, the flavor of carrots was prominent but that didn't bother my family in the least. We served it with a pinch of parm on top. My boys ate 2 huge bowls of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This soup is awesome..definitely worth making on a cold winter day. I added canned corn, frozen peas & baby spinach instead of the bag of frozen vegs & it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We loved this soup so much. I did have to substitue 2 bags of frozen mixed vegies as I was out of the other vegies and that worked out great because there was no chopping involved. I was also out of french onion soup mix so I had to substitute a dry onion soup mix I found on this site by faye522, and we ended up loving the flavor of the homemade one. The meatballs have an incredible taste, I wouldn't change a thing about them. We serve this soup with parmesan and italian bread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My ENTIRE family loved this, which is a rare thing for everyone to like the same thing! It was great!! Things I did different in meatballs: I used 2 LBS hamburger, 2 pks pork stove top stuffing instead of bread crumbs, 4 eggs, 1/2 cup of water. Soup: I did everything it asked for besides dry onion soup mix, frozen mixed vegs. Instead I added canned corn, canned chopped chilies, chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS89
Home Town: Holtville, California, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was so good! I used shells instead of alphabet noodles and provolone instead of the Parmesan cheese. My fiance said the texture of the meatballs was wonderful! I added some paprika, and garlic powder for extra zing. I love that you can add so many different ingredients to this soup and it will still be really good. Thanks! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeee8998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very good soup, I used shredded cabbage, added 2 crushed fresh tomatoes, add some celery, and green pepper (instead of mixed veggies), and instead of the pasta, I used 1/2 cup uncooked rice. It tasted really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We used sea shell pasta instead of alphabet. Minor adjustments really. But this was really great. My wife ate it about 4 different times for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States