Hearty Meatball Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Didn't taste bad, but not one of my favorites. Unappealing to look at. The mushroom soup gives it a gray color. If it weren't for the vegetables, you'd think it was pet food. I had to double the soup and water because it wasn't enough broth. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Great soup. Kind of like a stew. Great for a cold winter night. My husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! I had never made meatballs before but other than being quite sticky, they turned out great. I added an extra cup of beef stock as the liquid seemed too thick and substituted mushrooms for celery. Definitely try this; it's very, very good and very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This is an excellent soup! It’s very hearty, tasty and low in fat. I did tweak it a bit to add a little more flavor and reduce the fat even more… First, I used about ½ cup minced onion and about 2 tbs. fresh minced garlic in the meatballs. Second, there is no need to cook the meatballs in oil if you have a good non-stick pan. And finally I used non-fat chicken stock and non-fat cream of mushroom soup. This is excellent and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
What a yummy soup! Instead of making meatballs I omitted the egg and just crumbled the meat. I also used chicken stock instead of beef and the mushroom soup that I used was "Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic". It was very salty but had great flavor. I served it with homemade garlic dinner rolls and waldorf salad. It was a perfect meal for a very rainy day. Update 2008: I added an extra can of beef broth and half a box of rotini noodles and made it like a stew. Still tastes great and is a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
My entire family loved this recipe! For some reason, it turned out more like a hearty stew (no complaints here!). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I cheated and used pre-made frozen meatballs. it was that much easier and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
In my husband's words..."wow, this is really good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This soup was very good. I added onion soup mix in addition to two bouillon cubes, and added a teaspoon of worcestshire sauce to give it a little added kick. I also used less carrots and celery than the recipe called for, with no sacrifice in flavor. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This was my first attempt at a meatball soup. I enjoyed the flavor very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States