Hearty Meatball Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
The jury is still out on whether or not I'd make this again. I tweaked the meatballs by adding more garlic, red pepper flakes, seasoned salt and chopped cilantro. They didn't seem "solid" enough, so I also addred bread crumbs. I used low-salt cream of mushroom, but the consistency was weird. There didn't seem to be nearly enough liquid, so I added a 14 oz can of beef broth. Next time I'll use fewer carrots because the sweetness almost overwhelmed the broth. My husband ate two bowls, but I think he was just hungry. Again, it wasn't horrible, just OK. It's a good base on which a really GOOD soup can be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is just average. The flavor is not that spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was decent. The turkey meatballs turned out GREAT; very yummy. I didn't care so much for the corn in the recipe, next time I will leave it out. The sauce was excellent - creamy and thick. It's not so much a soup as it is a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This recipe saved the day when I had unexpected company for lunch after a cold and wet trail ride. I used frozen beef meatballs and cooked the raw veggies in the microwave to speed up my cooking time. It was a definite hit and all of my guests asked to take the recipe home with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
You can substitute the ground turkey with ground beef and use a chicken bouillon cube instead. It tastes just as good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Maybe I did somthing wrong, bit I really didn't enjoy this at all. I did cook it in the slowcooker and used ground chicken instead of ground turkey (since that's what I had in my freezer). But those were the only changes I made, and there was just something off about the flavor. I'm surprised, too, because I usually agree with most of the reviews on this site (and this recipe recieved a lot of rave reviews). I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I added 3/4 cup of rice and an extra cup of water and cooked covered. I also omitted the celery (didn't have any) and corn (don't care for it) and used half of the onion in the recipe. It turned out like meatballs in a thick sauce. Wonderful, but not a soup. Next time, I'll use the celery and maybe add frozen peas and more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Very good recipe!! Delicious soup - I ended up cooking it in the crockpot all day and using beef broth instead of water & boullion, and it worked great. I would have preferred it a little thicker (more stew like which I was surprised it didn't become in the crockpot), so next time I'd thicken it up. But otherwise - we ate well tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe was easy to make and tasted even better. My entire family enjoyed this soup. Next time, however, I'll make it with more broth because we had it with cornbread and needed more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
My husband said this was really good, but I have yet to try it. Maybe this is because I'm pregnant, I don't know. Most likely won't make this again, unless I get requests from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States