Hearty Meatball Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This really surprised me how good it was! Great way to incorporate more ground turkey in your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Pretty good, even when reheated the next day. I did double the amount of creamed soup and did use canned chicken broth instead of the beef boullion. Also, cooked the meatballs right in the soup and added uncooked rice to the soup as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I would consider this recipe about four and a half stars after making a few changes. I added some panko bread crumbs to the meatball mixture to get it to bind a little better (was a little too sticky to work with at first). I also just added separately sea salt and garlic powder. Instead of using canned cream soup, which is loaded with chemicals and preservatives and not very healthy, I used half and half in it's place. I first sauteed all the veggies (with some sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper) along with some baby bella mushrooms and then added about a cup and a quarter of natural beef stock (instead of beef bullion), about 2/3 C. of half and half, and about another quarter cup of water with about 2 heaping Tbsp. of whole wheat flour to thicken it up. I then stirred in the meatballs and allowed to simmer for about 25 minutes. At the end I added some cooked brown rice and allowed it to simmer a bit longer. It came out very thick and delicious and also very comforting without being too unhealthy. I do agree with a few others that it doesn't look very appealing, kinda grayish, but it does taste very good once a little tweaking is done. I imagine this could also simmer in a crock pot all day and get thickened up at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
The flavor wasn't horrible but it wasn't up my alley either. I can't exactly put my finger on it but something was off. Another person mentioned the "look" not being appealing and I agree. The meatballs themselves though were delicious! I loved the flavor they possessed. I used ground turkey and ground pork!! I will definitely make the meatballs again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJRobinson71
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was soooo good. I made it for a basketball game night when my brother and his family came over. They ate it all. I wanted some for leftovers the next day. I added 8 cups of water to make enough for all of us. I added thinly sliced potatoes to the boiling broth before I added anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I also added rice and green beans to the mixture. I had to add some extra broth as it wasn't nearly enough liquid by using just what's required in recipe. Overall, the taste was very good and was hearty enough on a cold night served with warm homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Easy to make, healthy and yummy! This is a great soup if you're calorie conscious. I didn't have celery, but I added some chopped up kale for extra vitamin goodness. I also used a can of beef broth, and worchestshire sauce in the meatballs and the soup. I'm cooking for one (love the leftovers!) so I don't think I really needed a full pound of turkey. Maybe 1/2 to 3/4 of a pound. But I definitely recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup. Like another reviewer, I used two cans chicken broth instead of the beef bouillion, but otherwise everything was the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was a good recipe, although it may have been better had I not made the following adjustments. I didn't have any bullion or stock, so I added a can of undiluted chicken noodle soup in addition to the cream of mushroom soup to enhance the flavor. I also added corn, peas, onions and tomatoes. I added extra water to avoid it being too stew-like, per other reviews. And per another review, I baked the meatballs instead of frying them in the oil to avoid extra calories, which I think is a great suggestion. The basic recipe is great to go by, you can make your own adjustments as needed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
My teenage boys ask for this soup again and again. I mix up the meatballs and bake them at 400 degrees (around 15 minutes to golden brown) while I assemble the soup ingredients and then just add the meatballs. Freezes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States