Hearty Meatball Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had a pound of ground turkey and was looking for a soup to make. I incorporated many of the previous suggestions. For the meatballs,I sauteed 1/2 cup of sweet onion with two large cloves of minced garlic in one teaspoon of olive oil in a non-stick pan until soft and let cool a couple of minutes. To the ground turkey I mixed in the egg a 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4+ teaspoon of ground black pepper, and the cooled onion and garlic. I used the same pan and browned the meatballs.The meatballs are very soft so I used a small scoop to drop them into the pan. I made the original recipe and added a few extras. I don't like the saltiness of bouillon so I used two 32 oz beef broth containers and two cans of cream of mushroom soup. I chopped six carrots and four celery stalks including the heart. I used one whole sweet onion and briefly sauteed them all before I added the beef broth. To the pan that I fried the meatballs in I added 1/4 cup sherry and about half a cup of the beef broth and deglazed the pan and added it to the sauteed veggies. I then added the meatballs, the beef broth, and a couple of good dashes of Worcestershire sauce and let it simmer for a about an hour. I added the mushroom soup and 2 cups of frozen corn and let that simmer for another 30 minutes. I served the soup with cornbread croutons and a little chopped fresh scallion. I think that I will serve it over a little cooked rice next time. I like to cook the rice separately so it doesn't fall apart in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Meatballs were yummy, and go well with the soup. I added lots of extra veggies for nutrition. I read how some reviewers found that the recipe not soup-ey enough. So I worked around this by making the dish in a slow cooker. First, I sauteed the onions and veggies. I added oil, but I think if you have a good non-stick, it's not necessary. I threw all the veggies in the slow cooker along with the water and bullion mixture and the cream of mushroom and set it on low for 4-5hrs (depending on how done the veggies were...However, you definitely want enough cooking time for the flavors to meld). I then baked the meatballs at 375F for 15-20min. I could've cut the cooking time down, b/c this fully cooked the meatballs. I'd rather had finished it in the last 15min of cooking the soup and maybe added more flavor to the soup. However, it's still pretty tasty just adding the meatballs in long enough to heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
When my hubby tells me something is CHOW, thats my way of knowing this meal is extra special and that I better make it again.. The only thing I did different was to add a can of campbells beef consomme in addition to the boullion cubes. I also made it in the crock pot! It was so good that HE printed it out for me...Definately a keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was delicious with some changes and additions. I added bread crumbs and garlic to the meatballs and cut back on the onions overall. Added an extra cup of broth, half the carrots, and a few handfuls of pasta. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good! Like a few others.. I cheated. I used frozen meatballs, beef broth, I doubled most ingredients and played around with the spices.. we ate sandwiches with ours which was ALOT, but on a cold night like tonight (22 degrees) I wanted to fill everyones tummy. Would recommend/ make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This soup was way too bland for our family even after trying to save it with the helpful hints. Will will not be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was excellent. I modified recipe, instead of boullion & water, added 2 cans sodium free beef broth. Added 6 crushed saltines to meat mixture, and added fresh corn instead of canned, and ate this for 3 days, Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I was dissappointed with this recipe. First I had a hard time keeping my meatballs from falling apart in the skillet. I think I would opt to bake them in the oven on a parchment lined baking sheet. Second, I didn't think there was enough liquid to cook the veggies and finish the meatballs. My soup had thickened too much and the bottom started to burn before the meatballs were cooked all the way through and the veggies were still crunchy even with the heat on the lowest setting. I decided to add more chicken broth to thin out the soup and simmer the meatballs and veggies until done. I did make one substitution since I did not have any corn. I used a little frozen chopped spinach which made the soup more like an Italian wedding style soup. I would recommend this addition/ substitution for anyone who plans on making this again (which I do not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Filley LacKamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was delicious. I made it the first time according to directions. Second time made adjustments which added good clean POP to recipe. I used 4 beef boullions and 4 cups water to the broth while it simmered. I also used 2 ears of fresh corn kernels instead of the canned. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
To ease the cooking process, I baked the meatballs at 375F for 20 minutes. I found it was a little bland... I might try adding the Worcestershire sauce next time as suggested by other reviewers. That being said it is a great soup for picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soleil01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States