Hearty Meatball Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
A very delicious dish! I love thick chunky soups, and this was great with all of the corn and carrots. It was even tastier the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
Really good. I've used ground beef for the meatballs as well as turkey -- both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Great recipe! I used lipton beefy onion soup mix instead of the bouillion, and then omitted the onion, and it tured out wonderful!. Also, instead of serving it as a soup, I served it over rice. (My husband hates soup, so I disguised it as a "stew"... and it worked!) Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This was really quite good. I did add a packet of Lipton onion soup mix to meatball mixture, but the rest was done according to the recipe. My family thinks it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This soup was very good. I added onion soup mix in addition to two bouillon cubes, and added a teaspoon of worcestshire sauce to give it a little added kick. I also used less carrots and celery than the recipe called for, with no sacrifice in flavor. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
In my husband's words..."wow, this is really good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
My entire family loved this recipe! For some reason, it turned out more like a hearty stew (no complaints here!). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
What a yummy soup! Instead of making meatballs I omitted the egg and just crumbled the meat. I also used chicken stock instead of beef and the mushroom soup that I used was "Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic". It was very salty but had great flavor. I served it with homemade garlic dinner rolls and waldorf salad. It was a perfect meal for a very rainy day. Update 2008: I added an extra can of beef broth and half a box of rotini noodles and made it like a stew. Still tastes great and is a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This is an excellent soup! It’s very hearty, tasty and low in fat. I did tweak it a bit to add a little more flavor and reduce the fat even more… First, I used about ½ cup minced onion and about 2 tbs. fresh minced garlic in the meatballs. Second, there is no need to cook the meatballs in oil if you have a good non-stick pan. And finally I used non-fat chicken stock and non-fat cream of mushroom soup. This is excellent and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! I had never made meatballs before but other than being quite sticky, they turned out great. I added an extra cup of beef stock as the liquid seemed too thick and substituted mushrooms for celery. Definitely try this; it's very, very good and very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States