Hearty Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I rolled them into balls for meatball subs. YUMMY!!!! Next time I will bake them in the sauce instead of adding the sauce later. Mushrooms and black olives would be good on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
My boyfriend and I make dinner for his family ever Sunday night, and his mom and dad just loved the recipe. Every week she craves it again. Tips: Next time I would put less pepper, it turned out really spicy. And, I would go easy on the cheese (I got a little carried away and didn't measure, my fault). But, other than that, I know we will be making that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I actually used this recipe as a base and added and changed it around a little bit because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand... My kid brother doesn't like spaghetti or spaghetti sauce, so I took the leftover meat sauce and added an egg and two pieces of bread and made the meatballs from that mixture. It was yummy this way, but the meatballs were very very fragile and broke apart easily. You only have to cook them for a short time- 15 minutes or so, just to cook the egg. I also made sure my sauce was really spicy. The other change I had was that I used "Texas Toast" style bread (the very thick white bread), and I sprayed it with cooking spray and put it in the oven without the aluminum foil. My version was yummy comfort food, and it didn't take very long... however it probably wasnt as pretty as it could have been. It was still good though- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Awesome recipe and easy to make. I topped with the sauce for the last 15 min. of baking. My husband loved it. I used sliced provelone cheese instead of shredded mozzeralla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
I love these sandwiches! I am 7 months pregnant and I have craved meatball subs my whole pregnancy so I order them everywhere I go but these ones beat all the restaurant subs. They are spicy and full of flavor but not too spicy...even my two year old loved them. I did roll the meat into meatballs rather than meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
THIS WAS SOOO GOOD..THE ONLY THING I CHANGED WAS USING PITA BREAD INSTEAD OF HOAGIES..I WILL BE MAKING THESE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
OMG! These are great! YUMM! I have been craving a meatball sandwich for so long! PERFECT! Will def make again! Thanks Wyatt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I CHANGED THE RECIPE SLIGHTLY. I ADDED SAUCE AFTER 30 MIN OF BAKING AND I MADE THEM INTO MEATBALLS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
SO GOOD. I had some beef to use, but didn't want to do just plain meatloaf, so I was excited to find this recipe. I didn't have any real onion, so I used the dehydrated kind instead, and it was fine. For the bread crumbs, I did crushed crackers w/ 1 tbsp. of Italian seasoning, but I would do a touch less seasoning next time. I added spices to tomato sauce to create my own marinara, and used an 8 oz. can. We used one long loaf of French bread cut in half, and it was the perfect size for all the meat. Overall, this was exactly as delicious as I thought it would be, and it was very very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
These were great! I went ahead and gave it 5 stars, because I know they can be and it was my poor choice in rolls. I also made them into meatballs simply because I couldn't imagine eating a meatball sub without them in meatball form(it also cut down the cooking time considerbly and only took a few minutes to form them). My hubby is a huge meatball sub lover and these made him very happy. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States