Hearty Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Awesome recipe and easy to make. I topped with the sauce for the last 15 min. of baking. My husband loved it. I used sliced provelone cheese instead of shredded mozzeralla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I rolled them into balls for meatball subs. YUMMY!!!! Next time I will bake them in the sauce instead of adding the sauce later. Mushrooms and black olives would be good on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
My boyfriend and I make dinner for his family ever Sunday night, and his mom and dad just loved the recipe. Every week she craves it again. Tips: Next time I would put less pepper, it turned out really spicy. And, I would go easy on the cheese (I got a little carried away and didn't measure, my fault). But, other than that, I know we will be making that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I actually used this recipe as a base and added and changed it around a little bit because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand... My kid brother doesn't like spaghetti or spaghetti sauce, so I took the leftover meat sauce and added an egg and two pieces of bread and made the meatballs from that mixture. It was yummy this way, but the meatballs were very very fragile and broke apart easily. You only have to cook them for a short time- 15 minutes or so, just to cook the egg. I also made sure my sauce was really spicy. The other change I had was that I used "Texas Toast" style bread (the very thick white bread), and I sprayed it with cooking spray and put it in the oven without the aluminum foil. My version was yummy comfort food, and it didn't take very long... however it probably wasnt as pretty as it could have been. It was still good though- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
I love these sandwiches! I am 7 months pregnant and I have craved meatball subs my whole pregnancy so I order them everywhere I go but these ones beat all the restaurant subs. They are spicy and full of flavor but not too spicy...even my two year old loved them. I did roll the meat into meatballs rather than meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
THIS WAS SOOO GOOD..THE ONLY THING I CHANGED WAS USING PITA BREAD INSTEAD OF HOAGIES..I WILL BE MAKING THESE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
OMG! These are great! YUMM! I have been craving a meatball sandwich for so long! PERFECT! Will def make again! Thanks Wyatt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
AWESOME! MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS. I ADDED MUSHROOMS AND BLACK OLIVES TO MY SAUCE. I ALSO MADE THE MEAN INTO MEATBALLS IT MADE IT MORE AUTHENTIC. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This was the best meatball recipe I have found! I went ahead and made mine into meatballs, baked in oven alone, then poured off the fat and added my sauce and cooked alittle longer and they turned out great! Got raves from everyone! I'm making these again tonight...my search for the perfect meatball recipe is now over! Try these...you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I skipped the onions, used ground turkey meat....and made them into traditional balls (per boyfriend's request). They were SO good! This meatball recipe was better than any restaurant meatballs we've ever had. We literally had this 3 days in a row. The leftovers kept getting better. This is definitely going to be made again and again! I'm thinking that making a large batch and freezing it would be good too! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States