Hearty Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Yum - I made it exactly according to recipe and it was really good!!!!!! My pick husband really liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
this is the best sandwich i have ever tasted it was amazing i gave it to my whole familt to try and they lived it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS: After making this for several years, I realized that i never made a review & many things weren't mentioned enough so it's confusing to know what to follow. 1. Just tastes better to have the traditional balls instead of slicing!!! 350 for 30 min or until outside is nice brown color (i just use 1lb). To make it easier, you can still follow directions and make log (width/height of desired meatballs), but cut PRIOR to putting in oven. If I do make these into sammies b/c I only have hamburger buns, I make log into RECTANGLE with desired thickness and bake for 30 min at 350 (so tender)! 2nd, DO NOT add a T of pepper. A tsp is fine, and there is no need for salt. 3rd, add a tsp of italian seasoning or make your own combination (oregano, basil, garlic powder). 4th, my husband is not a fan of onions but doesn't mind if I stick green onions in. Last, if you like more of a meatball texture ...add an egg. I don't. I DO like that I can make ahead and then when ready, re-heat meatballs in marina sauce which I have in a saucepan. Then just stick in oven when the men in your family want a quick meal (i have all boys)! For the marina sauce, I use what I have on hand (chunky spaghetti sauce)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Pretty good and certainly a lot neater than regular meatballs in a sandwich. Next time, I would certainly toast those buns first. Instead of forming a log and putting it in a baking dish, I put it into a disposable aluminum loaf pan into which I had punched holes, then placed that on some throw-away chop sticks in a baking dish to catch the drippings. It comes out easily after it's cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Husband declared this the best meatball sandwich ever. Reheating tip - heat slices and sauce in saute pan for a few minutes before assembling sandwich. LOVE the flat meatball sandwich. It's a forehead-smacker, it's so obvious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was just ok....I do agree with some of the reviews tho' I like the idea of no meat balls falling out of your sandwich. Will prob make again as a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Creekside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Yummy recipe. I added a little basil and took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the meat in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I made this recipe before and instead of marinara sauce i used the manwich bold sauce and it was GREAT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonerbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
What a great idea. I love the idea of the loaf, makes it so much easier to put on a roll. My family doesn't really like spicy foods, so I used less than half the pepper. I had made my own sauce to top it off with the cheese. Delicious! Getting ready to vacation at the shore (car ride) so I baked 2 loaves and froze them to assemble the sandwiches for lunch on vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
good recipe! use it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lexington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States