Hearty Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Just what you need for a cold night! Warm, hearty. One change - I did not put it in the blender - I kept it as a chunky stew. Fabulous! Made the work easier too. I made it a week ago and we are still eating the leftovers. And I don't eat leftovers - so that should say something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was absolutely delicous! It was comfot food and I felt so good about eating it, knowing how healthy it was! I substituted corn oil, 1 large onion, 2 real tomatoes diced, chicken stock, cooking wine, 1/4 bunch of cilantro. I also omitted the parsnip because they dont have them at the supermarket. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out so great. I served half as a soup (using most of the liquid). And the next day I served it with brown rice like rice-and-beans. Any vegetarian will be like "yumskers!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Excellent soup for those chilly nights. This soup has a wonderful flavor and is easy to make. My only change was that I increased the amounts of vegetable stock, wine, and Worcestershire as the lentils soaked up a lot of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
awesome soup. i added 4 cups of vegetable stock instead of 3, salt, pepper, cumin, mustard seed, vinegar and tabasco. i also pureed about half of the recipe to make the soup thicker. amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
The recipe doesn't call for enough broth for the amount of lentils it tells you to use. I had to keep adding broth and water. but it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This is a fantastic base recipe to create many flavours off of. I used parsnips, potatoes, carrots, onions and green beans to create a hearty soup. I found that I needed to add lots of herbs and spices to really get flavour out of the broth. I definately recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Great recipe. I didn't add the wine and I didn't miss it. I substituted an onion for the leek and though I'm sure it would have been even more flavorful with the leek it was fine as it was. The root vegetables gave it a delicious taste. I pureed half of the soup for a semi-chunky consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
A very hearty soup. The recipe made more than the 4 servings listed. Had to substitute cooking sherry for the red wine. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This soup was very good. I enjoyed its complex nature. The cilantro added a lovely pungency which cleared my sinuses (added bonus). ;) I used Columbia Winery Merlot for the wine. I also added crimini mushrooms towards the end and a cumin/curry powder combo as one reviewer suggested. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Add tomatoes AFTER the lentil are cooked, otherwise it is possible the lentils will not soften no matter how long you cook them for. Great hearty soup - and I agree, add more stock. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States