Hearty Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Delicious! I added 2 more cups of broth to the soup to thin it out a little. So warming and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIESCHOLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
So good and easy to make. Except I made a stew instead of creamy soup! Perfect for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Kind of bland. Needs salt. I added a little cumin and a little curry powder and it tasted great after that. Also, I added kernel corn and cut green beans. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Everyone enjoyed this soup, I did add chicken to it. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I love homemade soup and this one is a keeper! It's full of good for you ingrediants, low fat, high fiber and high flavor. My son's girlfriend and I love lentils, but no one else will eat them. So with Nikki was coming over, I made this just for the two of us. I left off the onions (allergy) the leek (didn't have any) and used Italian diced tomatoes and Bragg's Amino Acids instead of the woy and worchestshire sauce. Then like the other reviewer, I used my immersion blender for half of the soup before serving so that it was a more blended consistency. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was absolutely delicous! It was comfot food and I felt so good about eating it, knowing how healthy it was! I substituted corn oil, 1 large onion, 2 real tomatoes diced, chicken stock, cooking wine, 1/4 bunch of cilantro. I also omitted the parsnip because they dont have them at the supermarket. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out so great. I served half as a soup (using most of the liquid). And the next day I served it with brown rice like rice-and-beans. Any vegetarian will be like "yumskers!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
My wife said she wanted a hearty soup tonight, giving me short notice. Finding this recipe on the site made the evening for us. Since 'hearty' for me means meat, I cooked some sweet Italian turkey sausage on the side and dumped it in for about the last 10 min. There are myriad ways of successfully altering this recipe, and always coming out on top, I would suspect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Excellent! I used olive oil instead of veggie oil. I also used red lentils since that is what I had on hand, and it was perfect. My husband loved it, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
ok recipe. sort of bland. i probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I used what veggies I had on hand, which differed a bit from the recipe. I pureed about 1/2 of it and left 1/2 chunky. Very good. Perfect for a cold day. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States