Hearty Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
i didnt have the leek or parsnip so i just used a carrot, celery, potato and the tomatoes. i also used chicken broth instead of veggie and marsala wine instead of red. great flavor. i actually prefer my lentil soup really thick! that way i can scoop it up with crackers! oh and add hot sauce on top.. MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
It was very good and plentiful. I certainly ended up with more than 2-3 servings. Also, the lentils absorbed a lot of the liquid, making it more of a stew than a soup. Next time, I will use only 1/2 cup of lentils to see if that will make it more like soup. All in all, a good, cheap and hearty recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Delicious!! Very hearty and filling. I doubled the recipe and ate leftovers all week because that's all I craved. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Behold a miracle! My children ate vegetables without even a murmur of a fuss or whine. In fact, they devoured it. I used a Merlot for the wine (a bit more then called for too) and I used fresh tomatoes that I diced myself. Thank you for this very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmd20ts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I left out the green onions, leek, & potato & substituted crushed tomatoes as I prefer a smoother tomato base. Next time, I'm going to add adding can of vegetable broth or some water as the soup gets pretty thick. You also may want to add salt & pepper, as desired, at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very tasty! The only change I made was to increase everything by about 1/2, and that way it made 8 cups of soup or 6 good servings. I'd say the original recipe would make closer to 4 servings. You could add another can of stewed, crushed, or diced tomatoes, and maybe a regular onion instead of or in addition to the green onions if you prefer, but definitely very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
One of my favorite lentil soup recipes. I like to add some canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Krasnodar, Krasnodar Krai , Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This soup was a big hit! Didn't have the leeks, potatoes or vegetable broth. Substituted with chicken broth and added chopped canadian bacon. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This soup is fantastic. It is as hearty as a beef stew, but veggie-friendly! I doubled the broth, otherwise it would be too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Good soup Judith. We're not vegetarians so I used a hamhock for flavor. I skipped the potato and needed to add a lot more liquid as it cooked. A little bit of finely sliced red onion for garnish made for a nice presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States