Hearty Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was a simple recipe, how ever it lacked some spices. I made a 2nd batch after making the 1st one to a T. So 2nd batch with my tweeks were yummier. I added 1/2 cup of shredded Parmesan Cheese to the ricotta along with 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsp dried parsley, 1 tsp dried basil, 1/4 tsp black pepper. I also increased the ground beef to 2 pounds and added 2-3 cloves of minced garlic and increased the jar of sauce to 2. We loved the 2nd batch better then the 1st. It was much more meatier and filling. And followed the instructions on the basic set up. But will agree that it is simple to make and the cost is better then buying a pre-made frozen lasagna any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is a very tasty lasagna, I followed the recipe, the only thing that I changed was that I added some garlic powder and Italian seasoning to the ricotta cheese mix. And into the ground beef I added chopped onions. It was a very good change. Everyone that was eating just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
l-o-v-e-d it! It was an interesting mix... I've tried other lasagna on this website, but this is my personal favorite!--It had better, softer, and a more squishy texture. I thought it was great compared to the other ones. I did add some triangle jalapino pepperjack cheese on top, cuz' i like spicey foods. Don't get me wrong, it's a favorite in my whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starcafe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I was only able to fill one of the 2 qt dishes with 1 lb of ground beef.... and even with that, just barely. I personally like a little more meat in my lasagna, so that could be why, but I still suggest doing at least 1.5 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! Very easy and very tasty! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was very easy and delicious! I made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
ALthought asty, i founf the proportions to be waaay off. Barely made one pan's worth. i used around 1.15lbs of meat (recipe says 1 lb)and i only got a layer and a half of meat sauce. that being the case, i scaled back to 2 layers, only 6 noodles used. this was the same with the cheese..not enough. i will make this recipe again, but with the corrected amounts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I used the "lasagna ready" pasta and cooked the specified time and it still was not done. I also think the 3 cups of ricotta cheese was too much for this dish. I baked it uncovered as instructed and it just didn't seem to hit the spot for me or my boyfriend. Semi-good taste but it needs changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is such an easy recipe. I made it as written and it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I'm a novice cook and I'd never made lasagna before, so I was really nervous about how this would turn out. I followed the basic recipe but made some modifications. Instead of using sauce from a jar, I used 2 15oz cans of tomato sauce and 2 6oz cans of tomato paste seasoned with garlic powder, pepper, and italian seasoning [to taste]. I also used the ricotta modification that mis7up posted and added dried onions, fresh garlic, pepper, and italian seasoning to the beef. I cooked it in a 13x9 pan and had more than enough for the 6 people I served. It was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmccue
Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States