Hearty Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I'm a novice cook and I'd never made lasagna before, so I was really nervous about how this would turn out. I followed the basic recipe but made some modifications. Instead of using sauce from a jar, I used 2 15oz cans of tomato sauce and 2 6oz cans of tomato paste seasoned with garlic powder, pepper, and italian seasoning [to taste]. I also used the ricotta modification that mis7up posted and added dried onions, fresh garlic, pepper, and italian seasoning to the beef. I cooked it in a 13x9 pan and had more than enough for the 6 people I served. It was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmccue
Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
It's a LOT more cheese than meat sauce -- which might be ok if it wasn't called "hearty" lasagna and look very meaty in the photo. Also, while I like Prego sauce for spaghetti, it was too sweet for lasagna. I'll find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Love this Lasagna, I add 1 cup more of riccotta & Mozzarella and 1 more egg plus 2 cloves of fresh crush garlic, some basil and oregano, and it is fab, and I have enough to freeze for another day. I also need more noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very simple, and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
First time ever cooking lasagna, I had some trouble figuring out the layering portion (What goes first, second, etc.) but I did what I thought looked good, either way it was going to be eaten and it came out AMAZING. Best lasagna hands down that I have ever eaten. GREAT recipe. Gonna use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Easy lasagna and it tasted good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaca Moerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was great! I used LaFamiglia Del Grosso "Sunday Marinara" sauce, and it made all the difference. An expensive sauce, but totally worth the money! I also used a six-cheese Italian blend instead of plain Mozzarella cheese. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Good solid Lasagna recipe. Not the most exciting, but a good staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Just took it out of the oven. The only changes I made was to add minced onion to the hamburger as it was cooking, minced garlic and dried basil to the meat sauce, 2 cups mozzarella to the top. I would have given this a 5 but the measurements were off a bit. Next time I will use 2lbs of hamburger and 2 cans of the sauce. {I prefer Hunts 4 cheese blend for sauce, not as sweet as the jar sauce. Tastes more authentic). And 4 cups of ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States